Just life

Top Ten Tuesday – I Meant to read this but…

…Life happened? I don’t know why I don’t read half the books I plan to. Mostly I end up reading something else which is why it’s better that I don’t plan what to read next.

Yeah… this weeks topic for the Top Ten Tuesday, (hosted by The Broke and the Bookish), is 2015 Releases I Meant To Get To But Didn’t. But because I don’t really plan what I read and I most certainly have not exactly planned to read any specific releases from 2015, I’m going to tweak this weeks topic a little.

e44a1-toptentuesday

I’ve made up a list of books that I’ve planned to read this lifetime. These are books that I have absolutely no reason not to read because I actually own them. I just haven’t gotten around to them yet because I’ve had too many other books to read (or to re-read).

1 – A Christmas Carol by Charles Dickens.
Reasons why I want to read this book: 1. I would love to read more classics and this is actually a classic. 2. It’s short. 3. It’s a Christmas book and I love Christmas, I might even love this book.
Reasons why I haven’t read it: I can’t come up with one.

Dickens

2 – A Game of Thrones by George R.R. Martin.
Reasons why I want to read this book: 1. Because Game of Thrones!
Reasons why I haven’t read it: I’m a little intimidated by the amount of pages it has.

Martin

3 – A Good Year by Peter Mayle.
Reasons why I want to read this book: 1. Food. 2. Wine. 3. France. 4. It would probably be quite quick to read.
Reasons why I haven’t read it: Your guess is as good as mine…

Mayle

4 – Abraham Lincoln: Vampire Hunter by Seth Grahame-Smith.
Reasons why I want to read this book: 1. I was into vampire themed books when I bought it. 2. Has a 3.7 star rating on Goodreads. 3. Might be a good book.
Reasons why I haven’t read it: 1. I’m not sure if I’m that into vampires anymore. 2. I have no idea where the book is.

Smith

5 – Wuthering Heights by Emily Brontë.
Reasons why I want to read this book: 1. It’s a classic. 2. I’ve already read it halfway through. 3. It’s really good.
Reasons why I haven’t read it: 1. It’s really terrible. 2. I feel physically ill when reading it. 3. It’s emotionally raw.

Bronte

6 – The Mystery of Mercy Close by Marian Keyes.
Reasons why I want to read this book: 1. Marian Keyes is one of favorite authors. 2. It’s part of the Walsh-family series.
Reasons why I haven’t read it: 1. I’m afraid I’ve grown out of this sort of chick-lit. 2. Reason 1 makes me sad because I used to love Marian Keyes books with all of my heart.

Keyes

7 – The Three Musketeers by Alexandre Dumas.
Reasons why I want to read this book: 1. Again – It’s a classic. 2. It was the first Christmas gift I ever got from my husband while he was only a boyfriend.
Reasons why I haven’t read it: 1. Have you seen the amount of pages it has!? If I was intimidated by the amount of pages on The Game of Thrones how on earth could I feel good about this.

Dumas

8 – The Cider House Rules by John Irving.
Reasons why I want to read this book: 1. Classic! 2. I realize I wanted to read a lot of classics when I was younger because that’s when I’ve bought all of the classics I own.
Reasons why I haven’t read it: 1. The amount of pages is very overwhelming. 2. I don’t mix well with those giant books. 3. I wish they would come in pieces. It would be a lot easier for me to handle.

Irving

9 – The Bluest Eye by Toni Morrison.
Reasons why I want to read this book: 1. Very simple but beautiful cover (a valid reason!). 2. It’s a classic. 3. I have a feeling I will like it.
Reasons why I haven’t read it: I have no reasons.

Morrison

10 – Everything is Illuminated by Jonathan Safran Foer.
Reasons why I want to read this book: 1. Because I own it. 2. I must have thought I would like it when I bought it. 3. People on Goodreads seem to like it.
Reasons why I haven’t read it: 1. I really don’t know why I ever bought this book.

Foer

Toodles

4 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – I Meant to read this but…

  1. Stop thinking it has a lot of pages. You’ll never read any classic when thinking like that. The Great Gatsby has is thin as I don’t know what but it took much longer to read it than e.g. Game of Thrones (which, btw, is much better as TV series; read something else 😉 ) because it sucked. And yay for Marian Keys, now you can start reading good chick lit like Jane Austen. 😉

Please, leave a comment.

