Just life

Top Ten Tuesday – Awful books

Is it another Tuesday already? Time to list some more books for Top Ten Tuesday! This week’s list is of Ten Bookish Things I Want to Quit Or Have Quit. The whole thing is again hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. I decided to make a list of books I just could not finish or I wish I had finished.

e44a1-toptentuesday

Just make sure we’re on the same page here, it’s totally fine if you like any of these books. I gave them a chance and did not like them but it’s awesome that someone can appreciate these books.

1 – The Host by Stephanie Meyer: I only read about twenty pages of this book and I couldn’t read it any further. I tried to read it right after the Twilight saga and I guess it was too much Stephanie Meyer for me. I might give it another chance at some point.

2 – Getting Rid of Matthew by Jane Fallon: This just wasn’t good. I couldn’t relate to the characters and it just wasn’t a book I enjoyed. I never finished it.

3 – The Virgin Suicides by Jeffrey Eugenides: I found this book to be one of the most boring things I’ve ever read. What a drag but I still finished it.

4 – Eat Pray Love by Elizabeth Gilbert: I hated this book with all my heart! I had nothing in common with the woman and the book was so tedious I almost lost my mind. I wish I had given up on it but I kept waiting for it to get better and I actually finished it.

5 – To Have and Have Not by Ernest Hemingway: I find most of the books from the early 20th century to be quite boring. I have not read many of them but the ones I have read seem to lack a proper plot. It seems the books from that time just tell a story that has a beginning and an end, but everything in the middle is like a shopping list, boring and not relevant.

6 – Catch-22 by Joseph Heller: This classic was just full of mumbo jumbo and I had a hard time understanding any of it.

7 – Feed by Mira Grant: This is a book about zombies that made me realise I don’t like zombies. I’m not so sure if the book is actually bad or not but I never finished it because I just don’t like zombies. I thought I did but I don’t. I don’t even like Walking Dead.

8 – Seven Sisters by Margaret Drabble: I think this book was a freebie with a magazine I once bought many years ago. I didn’t even know I had tried to read it withouth on my abandoned books list on Goodreads. I have no recollection of this book and the story but I didn’t like it when I tried to read it.

9 – Imaginary Girls by Nova Ren Suma: This book made realise I might be growing out of the young adult genre. I read this book perhaps two years ago and I remember thinking of how naive these characters are. I’ve later realised that I actually do still like young adult books (John Green for example) which made this book seem even worse.

10 – Lord of the Rings by J.R.R. Tolkien: I couldn’t come up with ten books I didn’t like (I like all the books) so this is here just because I haven’t finished it yet. I never hated it, I just found it overwhelmingly huge and long. I’m halfway through and I’ve been stuck there for years. One day I’ll finish it and after that I’ll probably re-read it.

17 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – Awful books

  1. LOL — Yep, Catch 22 is pretty much full of nonsense! That’s one of the reasons I loved it. 🙂

    I couldn’t get myself to finish Great Expectations. Or anything by Dickens now that I think about it. So. Tedious. At least when I was in high school!

      1. My aunt told me that authors used to get paid by the word back in the day and that’s why they’re so unnecessarily wordy. Then again, my English teachers always told me, “Every SINGLE word is important, pay attention to it.” I’m inclined to agree with my aunt though. 🙂

  2. I tried reading Eat Pray Love because my mom loved it so much, but I didn’t continue even before the third chapter. I don’t know if it was because I wasn’t in the mood for it or just because it’s not my thing. Great list! Here’s mine: http://wp.me/p6Erc0-2M

    1. You’re definitely alone! I talked about this with some friends at school today and none of them who had read it had liked it. They all agreed with me that this might be the worst book ever written. Are we too harsh?

  3. I have The Host and Eat, Pray, Love on my to read list. Second guessing now lol I do have to say the Eat, Pray, Love movie was dull and I love Julia Roberts.

Please, leave a comment.

