Top-7 on Fridays

Top 7 – Best of the Oscars

Top 7

The Oscars were given last Sunday and I watched the show live in the middle of the night with a bunch friends. We had a great time making our own predictions and eating all sorts of great food. My predictions didn’t go as well as last year, but I got half of them right.

These are the bits of the actual show, and a little bit of the red carpet, that I think are the best!

#7: Cumberbatch and JLaw on the red carpet

The seventh place is a tie because I couldn’t decide which one to add to the list, so I added both.

Everybody loves Benedict Cumberbatch and after he photobombed U2 I decided to love him even more. The photobomb looks fun and it sure made me laugh.

Oscars Cumberbatch

Jennifer Lawrence fell at the Oscars, again! I think she’s going to make this into a tradition. This time she fell right away as she was getting out of the car. Her falling again even made it to Ellen’s opening monologue and she was casually joking about it herself when presenting the nominees and the winner for best actor in a leading role.

#6: Pharrell Williams’ performance

I’m not a big fan of Pharrell Williams although I don’t deny he’s very talented at what he does. I do like his Oscar nominated song ‘Happy’ and funnily enough the song makes me happy. Williams was cool to perform the song live at the Oscars and I liked the performance a lot. All the dancing on the stage was fun to watch and it was even better when Lupita Nyong’o, Meryl Streep and Amy Adams joined in for a little bit of dancing as well.

Oscars Pharrell

Watch the performance on the official Oscars website.

#5: Ellen DeGeneres

Ellen is simply the best! I love her sense of humour and pretty much everything she does. I think she’s the perfect host for the Oscars and I wish she gets to do it again sometime.

Ellen

#4: The Pizza

Ellen being the crazy funny woman that she is, decided to order some pizza for everyone at the Oscars. I bet no one thought she would actually do it and even I was surprised when a delivery guy showed up with pizzas.

Three pizzas didn’t last very long and most of the audience didn’t get a piece, but it sure was entertaining to see Brad Pitt handing out paper plates and napkins.

#3: Ellen broke Twitter

If you’ve not seen or heard of the selfie that broke twitter, you must have been in a coma for the past week. I love things that the whole world can take part of and the selfie was definitely something that the world took part of. The selfie was shared over twitter over a 600 000 in no time, and by the end of the Oscar show it had been re-tweeted close to 2 million times. Pretty amazing, donät you think…

This will be remembered as the selfie that broke Twitter.

#2: Jared Leto winning

Jared Leto was absolutely fantastic in his role as the beautiful Rayon in Dallas Buyer’s Club and if he wouldn’t have won the Oscar for that performance I would have been very disappointed with the Academy. The rest of the nominees didn’t have a chance to win it over Jared, he was just so good!

Oscars Jared Leto

And his acceptance speech was great too! He thanked his mother for being such a good mom and encouraging him and his bother to be creative and to do something special. He also gave a few words to the dreamers in such places as Ukraine and Venezuela. He of course mentioned all the 36 million people who have lost the battle against AIDS and those who have ever felt injustice because of who they are and who they love. I loved every single word that came out his mouth. You can watch the full speech on the official Oscars website.

#1: Lupita Nyong’o’s acceptance speech

Lupita Nyong’o’s acceptance speech for winning the Oscar for the best actress in a supporting role was full of tears and laughter. It was a heartwarming speech where she thanked her family, best friends and her fellow actors and other people who made the movie.

Oscars Lupita Nyong'o

She also talked about more profound things and said “It doesn’t escape me for one moment that so much joy in my life is due to so much pain in someone else’s,” being grateful for been given the role of Patsey and it being the best part of her life. The thing that really made me love her speech was the very last thing she said

No matter where you’re from, your dreams are valid.

I agree with that 100%!

Watch the speech on the official Oscars website.

Have a great weekened!
Loads of hugs – Inkeri

Please, leave a comment.

