Memory Lane · Weekly Wrap Up

Weekly Wrap Up – 47/2013

SONY DSCWelcome to my Weekly Wrap Up. The wrap up consists of five different parts. The first part is called Dear Diary, where I’ll write a short description of my week. The second part, Me of the Week, will be a picture of me taken during this week. Third part, News of the Week is a smaller version of the Sunday News. Stumble of the Week, the fourth part, is something I’ve stumbled on in the Internet that I find interesting. In the last part, Gratitude of the Week, I’ll list all the things I’m grateful for this week.

Dear Diary

Last Sunday I wrote about missing my mom, who has been in a hospital for over a month. She’s doing so much better today and she’s very turning back into her own self like she’s always been. That makes me happy. I will go visit her in the hospital tomorrow and give her so much love she’ll want to get better in no time.

Otherwise I’m doing quite good. I’ve been laid off from work this past week and will be for next week too, and I’ve been enjoying my days off a lot.

My sister paid a visit to use my sewing machine and to accompany me to a Christmas party as well. The picture for Me of the Week section below is from that party and the blond in the picture is my sister. No one took a picture where I was alone this week, which is why this week’s Me is a selfie of me and my sister.

Me of the Week

Me of the week 47

News of the Week

‘Selfie’ named word of the year.

The word ‘selfie’ has become a very popular word around the internet this year. Oxford Dictionaries has named the word as word of the year, which is truly is. ‘Selfie’ might not be considered as good English, but because of the high increase in use, it has earned itself this new title. The word of the year award celebrates the inventiveness of English speakers when confronted with social, political or technological change. READ MORE!

Pope and teens taking a selfie

Stumble of the Week

I stumbled over some memories today. Me and my sister are staying over at my mom’s apartment for a few nights to take care of some things before she gets back home from the hospital someday. We went through some of the boxes in her bedroom to see if there was something we could throw away. Instead of trash we found memories.

My mom had saved these booklets from our first years of elementary school. The booklet from the year I went on first grade had a drawing in it that was drawn by none other than me! The 7-year-old me had drawn a car, a tree and a few butterflies (or birds?) flying around. It must have been a good picture by 7-year-old, why else would they have printed it in a booklet that was given to everyone in the school. I wish I had scanner so I could have scanned the picture to show it to you.

We also found some cards, letters and cassette tapes. There was no list of songs on the tapes, so we had to listen to know which one of us sisters the tapes belonged to. They were my sister’s, although I listened to some of the same bands as she did, but these tapes were full of her favorite songs from our teenage years.

Memories are fun!

Gratitude of the Week

  • Mom
  • My sister and all the memories
  • Even though I’m laid off, I still have a job to go back to
  • I like my job! I really like it a lot!

With warm hugs and gentle thuds – Inkeri

Please, leave a comment.

