Slim Down Project

Slim Down Tuesday – New beginnings!

It’s time to turn a leaf with my weight loss project. I’ve analyzed my core problem to be boredom when it comes to losing weight and maintaining my healthier lifestyle. Everything’s fun when things are new and exciting, but after a while I get bored and continue on with my old habits, until I get bored with them. But this time will be different, because now I know what to look for – that would be signs of boredom – and do something about it before I get back to my old habits.

So this is again another new beginning, even though I never really stopped doing this healthy thing in the first place. I just noticed some signs in my behavior that indicated that healthy things weren’t too interesting to me anymore. I want them to be, so I’ll make them interesting again!

If you’ve followed my journey lately, you would already know that I somehow managed to keep my weight exactly the same for three weeks. To me that was sort of a success, but it was getting a bit frustrating when all I really wanted was the number to get smaller. This week it finally did get smaller. A lot smaller in fact! I weighed 88 kg (194 lb) for three weeks, but yesterday my weight was 85.8 kg (189,2 lb). I had lost 2.2 kg (4.8 lb) in a week. This was mostly due to me being extremely sick last week. I couldn’t eat anything for two days without it coming straight back out and I ate really carefully for the rest of the week.

I know that the weight might actually go up a bit next week, because I’m obviously eating normally now, and losing weight through not eating at all isn’t very healthy. It sure gets the job done, but it won’t keep you alive too long. Even if my weight does go up a bit next week, I’m more than determined to get it back down straight away during the next week.

I found that the thing that helps me most with this ‘healthy life’ -project is letting others know I’m doing it. I’m not trying to be on a diet, because those never work in the long run, but I am trying to eat healthy, act healthy and be healthy. I’ve been reporting my progress here on my blog every week for a few months now, but from this day forward I’ll do it just once a month.

I’ve been giving myself small weekly challenges to tackle on that would help me to maintain new healthier habits. Last week, and the week before that, my goal was to go to the gym and create a gym routine. I had a bunch of excuses on hand when failing two weeks ago, but last weeks sickness is no excuse. I failed to go to the gym, but I will forgive myself not going since I could barely stand up with my high fever and stomach ache.

I won’t be giving myself these weekly challenges anymore. Instead I will give myself three monthly challenges to do every month; a weight loss goal, some sort of food-related goal, and an exercise goal.

This months goals are:

1. To lose 4 kg (8.8 lb)
2. Eat five portions of fruits and vegetables every day
3. Go to the gym at least two times a week

I’ll report how I did next month! In the meantime, you can get small updates on my Twitter or Tumblr.

Have a healthy month!

With warm hugs and gentle thuds – Inkeri

One thought on “Slim Down Tuesday – New beginnings!

Please, leave a comment.

