Writer's Workshop

Writer’s Workshop – Two words to the younger me

Thursdays are always fun, because that’s when I take part in the Mama Kat’s Pretty Much World Famous Writer’s Worshop!

The Prompts:

1.) Share a tip or trick you recently learned. Can be blog related, parenting related, cat owner related…anything!
2.) A spooky story someone once told you.
3.) Hi, my name is ______ and I am a _______.
4.) If you could write a note to your younger self, what would you say in just two words.
5.) The last time someone called you a name.

4.) If you could write a note to your younger self, what would you say in just two words.

If I could write a note to my younger self, I would wish I had more than two words to use, because I’ve got a lot to say and two words are not enough.

I would want to encourage my teenage self to not go to the Finnish lukio (high school), although it was really fun, but I still wouldn’t want to go through that again. I would go straight to business school or some other range of vocational school. I definitely don’t regret going to lukio, but vocational school would have been better for my learn-while-doing sort of attitude.

I would also want to tell the early-teenage me to be confident. I was really shy when I was a kid and in someways I still am. I began losing my shyness around when I was about 14 or 15 years old, but it would have been great to have lost some of it even earlier. I think there’s absolutely nothing wrong with being shy, but for a person like me who likes social situations, being shy is a minor flaw.

I could choose my two words carefully and encourage the younger me to always be positive, or be more into things I hated back then and tell myself to start exercising. I might want to remind the younger me that it’s absolutely OK to love yourself, and like the person who you are. It might be best to just cut the wings from the butterfly at an early age and leave the rather young me a note saying “Honey, you’re going to need singing lessons“.

At the end of the day, with all the mistakes I made along the way, and all the things I’ve learned or left unlearned, I think I turned out pretty great. So the note I would leave for the younger me would be

BE YOURSELF

What would you tell the younger version of you if you could use just two words?

With warm hugs and gentle thuds – Inkeri

3 thoughts on “Writer’s Workshop – Two words to the younger me

Please, leave a comment.

