Memory Lane

The Throwback Tag

I was browsing the internet looking for interesting things to write about. I found a few tag-challenges, or whatever they’re called, and thought I’d do one of those.

The tag-challenges are usually a bunch of questions you answer to and after you’re done, you tag someone to do it too. This time as no one tagged me, I’m not tagging anyone either, but if you feel like answering these throwback questions, please leave a link in the comments, so I can come over and see your answers.

The Throwback Tag

The Questions:

1. What year were you born in?

I was born in 1982.

2. Do you have any pictures of yourself from when you were younger? If you do, show them.

3. What TV shows did you grow up watching?

I watched a lot of TV when I was a kid. Beverly Hills 90210 was one of my favorites and nothing beats Friends. I also watched Melrose Place, Prince of Bel Air, Blossom and Home Improvement. The Cosby show was our family thing and we always watched it together.

4. What did you want to be when you grow up and do you still want to be that?

I wanted to be a singer and I sort of still do, but I know I won’t because I can’t sing and even if I practiced and took singing lessons I would never be as good as I would want to be.

5. Show a video of yourself when you were younger.

I was born in 1982! The video camera we had was far from digital. I still have a few VHS tapes of me and my sister as kids, but I haven’t had a chance to digitize them yet. Maybe someday.

There is this funny video of me as a five or six years old getting really frustrated with some younger kids for not understanding how to play a game of funny families.

6. What were your favorite toys to play with?

Barbies. I didn’t have too many barbies of my own, but one of my cousins had plenty. My uncle and my dad used to make our barbies their own furniture. We had the coolest beds and closets for our barbies and we played with them for hours!

7. What’s the most embarrassing thing that you can remember doing?

I don’t like sharing embarrassing stuff! Who does!? Especially the MOST embarrassing things are still so embarrassing I would not like to share them. I’ll share this! – I peed my pants once at school when I was seven years old. It was embarrassing but I wasn’t really embarrassed about it.

8. Read something you wrote when you were in Kindergarten

I don’t think I wrote anything in Kindergarten. See, in Finland, the school begins at the age of seven and that’s when we really learn to read and write. Before school, at the age of six, we go to pre-school where we sort of learn the alphabet and stuff, but won’t necessarily learn to read or write.

So. Kindergarten happens even before pre-school, unless it’s considered as pre-school; I don’t really know this American terminology… Anyway, I didn’t write before I went to school. And all the things I wrote at school are somewhere safe at my mom’s house.

9. Three songs you loved to listen to as a child.

For some reason I loved Bruce Springsteen’s ‘Born in the USA’ even though I was definitely not born there. Weirdly enough I also liked Kim Wilde’s ‘Kids in America’. Third of my childhood favorite songs was Laura Pausini’s ‘Strani amori’. I don’t speak a word of Italian and I still have no idea what the song is about, (love maybe?) but I still loved it a lot.

10. What was one funny thing you dressed up as for Halloween when you were younger?

Halloween wasn’t exactly a holiday in Finland when I was a kid. It has gotten more and more popular over the years, but I still haven’t met any trick or treaters ever. How sad my childhood must have been, but I never dressed up for Halloween as a kid.

11. Tell a funny story of something you remember happening when you were young.

I’m sorry, but I can’t think of any fun stories from my childhood right now. I have shared quite many stories from my past on this blog before, so if you like you could check the archives from the Memory Lane category. Maybe you’ll find a funny story from there.

12. Are there any special things you’ve kept from when you were a child?

Turkey cold cuts and the woods.

Turkey cold cuts were a new thing somewhere around early 90’s I think. My mom used to by them all the time to put on top of our sandwiches. Turkey was pretty much the only thing we had for a long time and I got really sick of it after a while. I got so sick of it that I still shy away from it.

I was once friends with the woods, but then I got attacked by ants and I’ve still not forgotten. On some level I’ve forgiven, but it takes a lot longer to forget.

13. What was something weird you used to do as a child?

I put ketchup on everything! I actually didn’t know ketchup was a spice as a child. I thought ketchup was an invention to cool down hot food. So I put ketchup on every food that was hot so it wouldn’t burn my mouth. The weirdest food I spiced up with ketchup was probably fried eggs.

14. What’s the scariest thing you remember that happened to you when you were younger?

Maybe it’s the lateness of the day, or I really wasn’t scared of anything as a child, but I can’t think of anything I would’ve been afraid of as a child. If I remember something scary, I’ll make a separate post about it.

15. How is the world now different from how it was like when you were a child?

Science has come a long way. First phones turned into mobiles, and next mobile phones started to get smaller and now they’re getting bigger again. Our phones should be described as computers that can be used for making phone calls, not phones with the ability to get online.

Medical science has improved as well. There was no ADD or ADHD when I was a kid. Some kids were just rowdier than others. These days it seems like every second kid has been diagnosed with some sort of letter combination. The fact that medical science has improved is of course a good thing, because it means more lives saved and healthier people.

The world has obviously changed in a lot of ways, but all in all life is still the same. Kids turn into horrid teens just as they did when I was a kid. Parents may or may not get divorced just as they did when I was kid. They still teach the same history classes at school that they taught when I was a kid, except this time they have 30 more years of history to teach.

With warm hugs and gentle thuds – Inkeri

3 thoughts on “The Throwback Tag

  1. Fun post! By the way, in the US a child goes to Kindergarten at age five. I teach preschool to the children I watch and usually they learn the basics…alphabet, shapes, colors, counting to at least 10 (usually can count to 100 before age 5) and so on. Some of the kids I watch are reading before they enter Kindergarten. It all depends upon each child’s ability and eagerness to learn.

    I should do something like this. My poor old brain has been too tired to think of much to write about, lately!

Please, leave a comment.

