Memory Lane · Top-7 on Fridays

Top 7 – Bands of my teenage years

Top 7

I’ve been watching old music videos on YouTube today and I’m feeling quite nostalgic. I’ve liked a lot of different kind of music through all the years. I’ve liked rock, pop, rap, R’n’B, heavy, punk, alternative etc… I’ve liked a lot of different artists as well.

I’d like to share a list of artists and bands who I liked when I was a teenager (13-17 years old). I’ve also included a song by each artist or band that I think was my favorite by them back then. I’ve added a small Spotify player to each in case you’d like to know what on earth I’m talking about.

These are the favorite bands of the teenage me. Note that some of them are still my favorites, like numbers 1 and 2.

#7: Oasis

I was into British music a lot when I was a teenager and Oasis was one of my favorite bands. I liked how British they sounded and I guess they were pretty talented as well.

My favorite sing by Oasis was She’s Electric. The song made me want to be electric too.

#6: Hanson

Hanson has always sort of been my guilty pleasure. For some reason no one liked Hanson when I was a teenager and I thought I was a bit weird because of that. Well, maybe I was a bit weird… I was proud to like Hanson though. I had the silliest fan crush on Taylor and when a friend at school started to date a boy who looked exactly like Taylor, I was really jealous. Until the boy the dumped her.

My favorite song by Hanson has always been A Minute Without You. It became an instant favorite when I first heard it and it’s still one of my favorites by the band.

I couldn’t find the song on Spotify, so if you’d like to listen to it, there’s a video of them playing an acoustic version of the song below.

#5: Backstreet Boys

It was the 90’s and boy bands were in and I was into all things in back then. Backstreet Boys wasn’t as good as Take That back then, but they were good enough so I liked them.

My favorite song from their first album was Get Down (You’re The One For Me). I loved it!

#4: Britney Spears

I was a Britney fan. The mid 90’s was the golden time for pop music and I was sucking it in like an addict would suck in drugs. Britney was awesome! She had an healthy attitude towards everything. She was smart and beautiful, a perfect role model.

Then something went wrong and all of a sudden she was bald.

My favorite song before her bald period was Sometimes. First I thought I’d say it was Stronger, but Stronger became a favorite sometime later. I liked Sometimes a lot back then. I was an innocent girl liking innocent songs.

#3: Spice Girls

I liked Spice Girls a lot as a teenager. I listened to their CDs in my room dancing around and having fun by myself. I guess they had the girl power that I was seeking after in that age or something. Plus their music was really catchy!

My favorite song was also my favorite dance routine, Stop! I loved that song.

#2: Bon Jovi

If you know me at all, you should know that I love Bon Jovi! I’ve been a fan since I was 12 years old and that was 19 years ago. It’s something about their music that just works for me.

My favorite song by them when I was 17-19 years younger was In These Arms. It’s still one of my favorites, but that got reminded back and fort so many times I’m surprised the cassette tape still works.

#1: Take That

My sister started listening to Take That when she was maybe 12 or 13 years old. Since the apartment we used to live in when we were kids wasn’t too big, I was sort of forced to listen to them whenever she wanted to listen to them. I didn’t mind that at all and started to listen to them myself. I guess I have say thanks to my sister for liking them first and introducing them to me as well.

It wasn’t easy to pick my favorite song from their early albums. I realise I still like most of the songs a lot and some probably even more than I did back then. I could have quickly gathered up a top seven list of my favorite songs by Take That from when I was a teenager, (maybe I’ll do that on a Friday someday), but narrowing it down to just one wasn’t an easy task. I did manage to choose just one in the end.

My first favorite song by Take That was I Can Make It from their first album. I’ve had many favorites since then, but it was the first one.

Who did you listen to when you were a teen? What was your favorite song by them back then?

With warm hugs and gentle thuds – Inkeri

Please, leave a comment.

