Crafts, Recipes and Tutorials

Kotletti

One task on my 101 Things in 1001 Days list is to learn a new recipe every month. I realised on Sunday night that the month is almost over again and I still haven’t learned how to cook anything new. I racked my brain trying to think of something I’d like to know how to cook and eventually came up with something my dad used to make when I was a kid.

It’s called kotletti in Finish. I tried to find a translation to English and the best one I found was to call it a cutlet, but I know that’s completely wrong, so I’ll just use the Finish name, kotletti. The next step was to find a recipe for it, but none of the ones I found looked nothing like the ones my dad use to make. In the end I asked my husband for help, (he’s a chef after all) and he taught me how to make them.

Kotletti is like a small minced meat patty that is covered with breadcrumbs. I know my dad makes his kotletti from minced veil, but our grocery store didn’t have any, so I used minced beef. I think that worked just fine, but if you can get your hands on some veil, I recommend you use that.

KotlettiThe ingredients:

500 g minced veil (or beef)
1 large onion
3 cloves of garlic
3 eggs
flour
breadcrumbs
salt
seasoning
butter

This is what you do:

1. Chop the onion and mix it in a bowl with the minced beef, crushed garlic cloves and one egg. Add a little salt if you feel like it.

2. Take out three plates. Pour some flour on the first one, crack two eggs on the second one and mix the seasoning of your choice (I used all purpose steak seasoning spice mix) with the breadcrumbs and some salt on the third one.

3. Make little meatballs from the minced meat mix and roll them around first in the flour, then cover them with the egg and last roll them in breadcrumb spice mix. Flatten the balls into small patties and fry them on a pan. Use a lot of butter!

This recipe made 13 little patties. I served them with smashed potatoes, steamed carrots and some peas. It was one of the best things I’ve cooked lately and made me think I might not be a lousy cook after all.

I would like to know if you ever decide to try this recipe. Please let me know what you thought about them.

With warm hugs and gentle thuds – Inkeri

One thought on “Kotletti

Please, leave a comment.

