Memory Lane · Writer's Workshop

Writer’s Workshop – It happened at daycare

I’m going to share a memory from my childhood with you today. I always claim I can’t remember much of my childhood due to a lousy memory, but somethings just stick with me throughout the years.

There was a prompt among the five of Mama Kat’s pretty much world famous Writer’s Workshop prompts that made me want to tell you a story of what I once did.

The Prompts:

1.) Happy Fall! The first day of Fall was September 22nd, share something fall related you did!
2.) Coffee Talk! Share your first pumpkin spice latte of the season with us. Bonus point: Pay it forward and buy a pumpkin spice latte for someone else.
3.) It happened at daycare.
4.) Something you learned about blogging from an unlikely source.
5.) Write a list of things your kids have said that that made you cringe.

3.) It happened at daycare.

I sort of never went to day care because my mom ran her own small day care at home. She looked after me and my sister and 2-3 other children at our home. I think it was really fun to have play mates over every day, and still be raised by my wonderful mother.

I did however go to pre-school when I was six, (FYI: we start our first grade of school at seven years old here in Finland), to learn some things before going to the actual school. It was a lot a fun and all our pre-school teachers were great. I was having the time of my life.

The only downside was the food. Until now I had pretty much ever only eaten whatever my mom or dad had cooked for me, and everything they ever cooked was usually delicious. Most of the food at pre-school was good. I started developing my addiction to food at a very young age and I ate whatever was put in front of me. Except the meat soup they offered at pre-school.

There was definitely something wrong with the meat they put in the soup. It was extremely tough and difficult to chew. Everything else in the soup was edible, but I just couldn’t swallow the meat. The only problem was that the teachers wouldn’t allow us to leave the meat uneaten. I tried my hardest to just chew it, but eventually I had to come up with another solution.

I came up with a cunning plan to get rid of the meat without having to eat them. This is what I did: Right in the middle of eating I would say I had to use the toilet. Usually the teachers asked me to wait until everyone had eaten, but every time I convinced them that I had to go right away. When they finally gave in I would quickly stick all the bits if meat in my mouth and run to the toilet where I would flush them down and no one would know.

I’m not sure how many times I actually did this before the teachers noticed what I was doing. I’m not completely sure if they ever did notice anything, but I would sure think they had some kind of idea of my sneaky business, I just don’t have any recollection of ever getting caught.

Did you do anything sneaky like that when you were in pre-school of in day care? What’s the sneakiest thing your children (or children you take care of) has tried to do?

With warm hugs and gentle thuds – Inkeri

5 thoughts on “Writer’s Workshop – It happened at daycare

  1. That is so smart! The kids my daughter and I watch are usually pretty young. They do try to do sneaky type of things, but they haven’t really developed a good understanding of how to pull it off. So, they pull their stunts right in front of us..lol.

    1. Small children are fun that way. They’ll figure it out eventually as they get older and understand they should be doing certain things out of site in order to be able to pull them off. πŸ™‚

  2. I totally did this same thing when my Mom cooked steak! And because of that I don’t force my kids to finish food. If they don’t want it, they don’t want it. I love how smart you were to figure out a solution to your little problem!

Please, leave a comment.

