Wednesday Reviews

Wednesday Review – Winter is coming

Wednesday ReviewI might be a year or two too late, but as I’ve only just watched the first season of Game of Thrones, I’m going to write this little review on it no matter how late I am. This review could very well be extremely short with a single sentence telling that I loved it and I give it a million thumbs up, but I’ll try to elaborate what I think makes this series worth to watch.

This review contains spoilers. If you’ve been able not to get spoiled yet and want to keep it that way, do not read forward, but trust me when I say; the series is more than just good!

The Storyline

In case you didn’t know the series is based on the Song of Fire and Ice book series by George R. R. Martin. I have not read the books. For some reason I’ve found the idea too overwhelming just now. There’s just so many pages to read and I have a feeling once I start I won’t be able to stop until I’ve read them all.

Picture from gameofthrones.wikia.com
Picture from gameofthrones.wikia.com

There are seven noble families who fight for control over the mythical land of Westeros. All of this happens sometime in the past when there was no technology, summer’s lasted nine years and winter’s were cold as ice. The story is fascinating because it could easily be true. Kings and Queens trying to claim the throne for themselves killing bunch of people along the way. Everybody scheming against each other while trying desperately to find someone to trust.

White Walker - Picture from gameofthrones.wikia.com
White Walker – Picture from gameofthrones.wikia.com

That might seem like any soap opera on TV, but Game of Thrones is so much better because it’s no Bold and the Beautiful in any way. In Game of Thrones these people use crows instead on mobile phones to get urgent messages forward, they simply slice the heads off of the wrong-doers instead of poisoning or shooting them, they ride horses instead of cars to get from one place to another, and they have mythical creatures, like the White Walkers, that can scare the hell out of anyone.

The Characters and their actors

At first it seemed to me that most of these characters are just pure evil and, being the good person that I am, I didn’t like that very much. The series has grown on me and some of the evil characters turned out to be just fine, like Tyrion Lannister (Peter Dinklage), who wasn’t as evil as he may like others to think. I was sort of iffy about Khal Drogo at first, but at the end I really liked the roughness and primitiveness of him, (Jason Momoa‘s looks really helped liking the character), but then he died.

There are a lot of characters in this series and all of them are necessary. The cast is absolutely wonderful and that’s all there really is to say. The actors playing these roles are made for their roles, except one, I guess. I think Lancel Lannister looks like he shouldn’t have as deep voice as Eugene Simon, who plays the character, has. Otherwise I have no complaints.

The Scenery

If you’re not going to be into the storyline or the characters in this series, then would you please be into it because of the gorgeous scenery. The series was filmed in Ireland and Iceland and it looks amazing!

Picture from http://www.lzsy.co.uk/2011/10/game-of-thrones-%E2%80%93-the-sexier-more-aggressive-lord-of-the-rings/

Besides the scenery there’s so much detail in this series with all the costumes, castles and everything else, that if you don’t get excited about that, there might be something wrong with you. Nothing big or serious that would prevent us to be friends, but something…

In Short

This series is rock’n’roll (or any other music genre you’re into) and you should be watching it!

I give the first season of Game of Thrones about a million thumbs up, but I will only show the first fiveof them.

Five Thumbs

With warm hugs and gentle thuds – Inkeri

Please, leave a comment.

