Writing prompts and challenges

About Miley Cyrus and the VMA performance

I’m an adult without kids, but I’m not ashamed to admit that a few years ago I loved watching Hannah Montana on Disney channel. I remember thinking that Miley Cyrus would have a great career ahead with that beautiful voice of hers. I wouldn’t say I’m a fan of Miley Cyrus, but I’ve sort of enjoyed listening to her music every now and then and The Climb still makes cry. But something changed when I saw Miley’s VMA performance and as suggested by the WordPress weekly writing challenge, I’m going to tell you how I feel about it.

In case you’ve somehow had a chance to avoid seeing or hearing about the performance and you have no idea what I’m talking about, but would like to know what’s happening, click this link to see the peformance on YouTube.

I thought her performance with Robin Thicke (who’s almost old enough to be her father) was quite disgusting. All the twerking and tongue sticking in a nude-like outfit wasn’t exactly sultry or sexy to me, and that’s what I think she was desperately trying to be. I would say she was quite ugly.

It’s clear without saying that the performance was meant to be provocative and to grab our attention. Miley even mentioned this yesterday in an exclusive interview with MTV news. She wanted to make history and to be talked about for days, and that’s exactly what she did. She claims the performance shouldn’t be seen as such a big deal; there have been other performances on the VMAs before that has been as revealing as this one. I kind of hate to admit it, but she’s right.

Britney Spears did it 13 years ago. Britney wore a nude coloured outfit that made her look pretty much naked at the VMAs in the year 2000. She was also dancing sort of provocatively while singing “oops, I did it again”. In all honesty I can’t remember that to have been as big of a deal as what Miley did, but it sure was something new from the good-girl Britney at the time. Britney too was cerating her bit of history back then and sure succeeded as we’re still talking about that performance today. Sadly she made some bigger mistakes later in life, but hopefully learned something from them.

So what’s the difference? Why was it OK for Britney, but now when Miley is doing the same thing it’s a huge mistake?

The way I see it, is that Britney did it in style, though in skimpy clothing, when Miley was just too obvious and all over the place. I feel like Miley made a total fool of herself wearing a size too small outfit, grinding her bottom against Robin Thicke’s crotch while sticking her tongue to her cheek. That was the most awkward thing I’ve ever watched. If she had done it with more clothes on, without the twerking and tongue sticking, it could have been a lot better and it still might have been a historical performance.

I beleive half the reason Miley’s outfit was close to naked, is the music video for Robin Thicke’s song Blurred Lines, which they so historically performed. I’ve seen both versions of the video and I could probably write a whole post about how I feel about the explicit version, but just because women are naked on a music video doesn’t mean you have to be naked on stage to create the same effect.

Miley metioned on her exclusive interview with MTV news that she doesn’t listen to the negative, which is probably absolutely great in her profession, but I think she should listen to it now. I bet she has heard and she will hear a lot of negativiy towards her, but some of the critisism could do her some good. I wish she would take a step back and look at how the rest of the world sees her right now. I, for one, feel a little sorry for her, because I think the world is laughing at her and not with her right now.

I hope she would revaluate what she wants from her career and how she wishes to achieve it. There are many different routes to the top and I’m no expert of knowing which is right, but I look more up to the stars who keep most of their clothes on and choose the classy way on to the top instead of the tacky one.

I think Miley has a beautiful voice and if she wanted to she could make history just with that. I wish she would keep hr clothes on, keep the tongue in her mouth, lose the twerking, (It’s getting old anyways), and make your own history, not what someone already did. If Britney or Madonna did it, it doesn’t mean you have to do it!

With warm hugs and gentle thuds – Inkeri

Please, leave a comment.

