Slim Down Project · Writing prompts and challenges

Health Month – I’ve been lazy and I eat too much

Health monthAugust is over and as I recall I promised to be honest this month, and honestly I was lazy. I believe I didn’t exercise at all, maybe once a week, but definitely not more than that. I didn’t drink enough water and I think I didn’t sleep enough either. I was lazy to be healthy and I hate myself a little bit for it.

I’m not home this week and sadly my mom doesn’t have a scale, so I have no idea how much I weigh today. I’m pretty sure it’s more than last week, because I’ve been eating out a lot lately and I haven’t been too keen on exercising. I better change that soon.

So August wasn’t too good for me, byt luckily I can always start my health month over as September has just begun and do a lot better. I’ve decided to choose the exact same rules this month to prove to myself that I can follow everyone of them and lose as few health-points as possible. I ended August with just three points left and hopefully I’ll end this month with just three points lost, or none of the points lost would be even better.

September rules

My biggest problem right now is overeating. I’ve been eating out a lot lately and I haven’t been checking my portion sizes too much. I’m one of those people who could be called as food addicts. I love food and when it’s delicious I want more and eat too much. I think it’s good that I’ve made a mental note about this problem, but it doesn’t help me losing weight if I don’t do something about it.

Whenever I come to visit my mom she has the fridge packed with food. It’s usually nothing unhealthy, but my problem isn’t that I’m eating unhealthy food, but that I eat too much of it. When the fridge here is full of food I just eat it. I don’t have this problem at home too often because I don’t usually buy extra food, just as much as I’m planning to eat. My mom however has always been obsessed that there’s always enough food and the more the better, which is sort of good of course, but not for me.

I started this new habit to give me small weekly challenges to help me reach my goals. I liked it a lot and thought it might be good to continue doing that. This week I will challenge myself to eat more fruits. I bought a sack full of fruits today because they were so cheap at the supermarket, so whenever I feel like going to the fridge I would pick a fruit instead. Sounds good, right?

What are you going to challenge yourself to do better this week?

With warm hugs and gentle thuds – Keri

I’m ging to link this post up with Prompts for the Promptless this week. Their prompt involved talking about overeating, so this one would suit that just fine.

6 thoughts on “Health Month – I’ve been lazy and I eat too much

  1. I have the same problem. I tend to forget to just put a healthy portion on my plate and leave it at that. After having my gallbladder out, I don’t do it as much as it tends to cause me great distress if I do! I eat a little something every 2 hours and it keeps me from being hungry and my stomach handles it much much better. I just have to make sure the ‘little something’ I eat is healthy and low fat. I have lost some weight and I hope to lose more this way. Don’t be too hard on yourself! Just keep up the good attitude and keep trying.

    There, GrannyK has spoken…lol

    1. Lol! 😀 Thanks for the support Gran! I’ve tried to change my attitude to more “slow, but steady” attitude. I don’t really mind how fast I lose the weight or make the important changes to my life. I believe that the slower I do it the better I will stick to it.

      Good luck for you on your weight loss too!

Please, leave a comment.

