Wednesday Reviews

Wednesday Review – The Future, a Thief, Bunch of Children, and a Secret Operation

Wednesday ReviewI’ve been watching a bunch of movies again, so here I am writing a bunch of mini reviews of them.

Elysium

I’ve never liked too many space related movies. Avatar was good and I enjoy watching the Star Wars movies over and over again (they’re more of the adventure and fantasy genre, I think), but most sci-fi movies are too much for me.

This one was OK. I guess the plot was sort of plausible, which is why my brain decided to like it a little bit. And even if the plot would seem like totally over the top, no one alive now would be there in 2154 to see how wrong the movie actually is. Or maybe the actual movie could perhaps live that long and the future people would see it as a comedy, and have a good laugh about it.

Anyhow, the movie was fine, although it didn’t change my view on space related movies. I give Elysium three and a half thumbs up!

Three and a half thumbs up

The Thomas Crown Affair

The husband was feeling adventurous the other day and he decided to watch The Thomas Crown Affair on Netflix. I wasn’t doing anything productive, (just sitting on the couch next to him, surfing the internet), so I thought I’d watch it too.

The story in itself was quite good. A sneaky thief stealing paintings from right under the guards’ noses and he might even get away with it. But there’s always some smart and clever investigator who knows who it is from the start, but is prevented from taking the lead by some know-it-all detective who thinks he’s got a better lead.

I enjoyed the movie and thought it was OK. The only think that really bothered me though was that Rene Russo’s character was topless perhaps 85% of the movie. I mean, she’s got nice breasts, but if I wanted to see breasts I would chosen something else.

I give The Thomas Crown Affair three thumbs up!

Three thumbs

Cheaper by the Dozen

I’ve always said I want at least ten kids, more even if possible. I’ve been exaggerating of course, and after seeing this movie I definitely don’t want more than five, six tops.

The movie was fun. It made me chuckle a couple of times, but it didn’t really leave any longing to see it over and over again. Though it did make me want to see the sequel, so the movie wasn’t the worst.

I give cheaper by the Dozen two thumbs up!

two thumbs up

Cheaper by the Dozen 2

If the first one made me chuckle, this sequel made me smile. It wasn’t even close as funny as I would hope a comedy to be. The movie was extremely predictable and quite boring.

I got sort of excited of young Taylor Lautner as the flirty kid next door being as cheeky as he could, but that was all the movie had to get me excited over, and that ain’t too great.

I give Cheaper by the Dozen 2 one thumb up!

One Thumb up

Valkyrie

I’ve never been a big of Tom Cruise. I’ve always thought he’s sort of weird, though being weird doesn’t make anyone a bad actor, and he’s definitely not bad at acting. Just weird as a person, (as if I know him personally… I don’t).

Anyway, I’ve never been a big fan of war movies either and the combination of Tom Cruise and a war movie could seem like a catastrophe to me. Luckily the movie sucked me right in and I really enjoyed watching it. I guess there wasn’t too much war in it. It concentrated more on the scheming behind people’s backs and getting rid of Hitler.

I give Valkyrie three and a half thumbs up!

Three and a half thumbs up

 

With warm hugs and gentle thuds – Keri

2 thoughts on “Wednesday Review – The Future, a Thief, Bunch of Children, and a Secret Operation

Please, leave a comment.

