Slim Down Project

Health Month – When it’s time for celebration

Health monthMy week was good. I didn’t sleep enough, but I did some exercise and definitely drank enough water. I weighed 88.5 kg (195.1 lb) last week, today I weigh 86.6 kg (190.9 lb)! I lost 1.9 kg (4.2 lb) in a week and I couldn’t be happier about that.

I did surprisingly well on the challenge I gave myself last week. I chose the stairs over elevator every time I could, except once. On Friday when I was getting home from work I took the elevator up to our changing rooms. I realised what I was doing halfway up and the moment my brain understood what was going on, I tried frantically to get out, but I couldn’t of course. I was bummed out it for a moment, but about half an hour later I was proud of myself again; I thought, since I already messed it up I could take the elevator home as well, but luckily I came to my senses and took the stairs instead.

This week, I have a big concern. I know I’ll be eating high calorie food and drinking high calorie drinks next weekend. Me and a few colleagues are going to spend the weekend having fun and celebrating friendship and life in one of them’s summer house. It will be fun, but after such a good start at losing weight (almost 2 kg in a week is amazing), I wouldn’t want to mess it all up straightaway.

I truly believe I should not deny myself of eating and drinking all of the delicious things, because there should be times for celebration in life no matter if you’re overweight or not, or dieting or not, or just trying to create better eating habit, like what I’m doing.

I used to do weight watchers and if I was still doing that, I would probably just save some of the points for the weekend and feel better about myself instantly. I could of course do that this week as well. Who needs weight watchers to count points… But instead I’ll challenge myself to make smarter choices this week. I will eat more low calorie foods and sort of save up the weekly calories for the weekend. So more veggies and fruits for me, and less gravy and ice cream, and that sort. I would get my award for doing great by the end of the week.

And I will continue taking the stairs for at least another week. This is my way to trick me into doing it for the rest of my life. 🙂

Hope you’re having a great week!

With warm hugs and gentle thuds – Keri

2 thoughts on “Health Month – When it’s time for celebration

  1. Good for you! I agree you need to indulge a little on the weekend. Once in a while won’t hurt. My challenge is to indulge without over doing it. Smaller portions are hard to stick to when it’s to yummy! I, too, am trying to lose weight and eat healthier. I never had weight problems until I hit 50ish. Now, the weight just seems to come on overnight! Walking more will help tons. Walk when you can, it’s a gentle but fantastic way to exercise.

    1. Walking is my favorite form of exercise. It’s easy enough as well; Just get your shoes on and head out. I think I would enjoy swimming too, but all the swimming halls are pretty far away and I’m lazy.

Please, leave a comment.

