Wednesday Reviews

I’m listening to Boys Like Girls

My most trusted and loved music player, Spotify, kindly suggested a band for me to listen to based on artists I’ve listened to before. I’m happy about it, because now I have only two new musical acquaintances left to listen to, and after that I can tick one more task off my 101 Things list.

Spotify’s suggestion for me was Boys Like Girls and let me tell you; this girl sort of likes these boys. I started off with their newest album, Crazy World, but I didn’t really feel the love. The album wasn’t bad, but it was perhaps just a little bit boring and I didn’t finish listening to it. I read a few reviews of the album online and they had a disappointed sound to them. I gathered that the older albums from the band were way better and tougher than their newest creation.

I decided to give them a second chance and chose their self-titled album from 2006. I was happy to give them the chance too. This album was better!

Boys Like Girls

The band has described their musical style as emo pop, punk and alternative rock. I would not describe it as punk, never! I’d say they’re music is more pop rock than emo pop, but at the end of the day, I guess alternative rock could be the correct description. Maybe not for the Crazy World, but for the self titled, Boys Like Girls.

Overall, this band doesn’t suck and I’m not sad I took a listen to them. I’m not sure if I’m going to be their biggest fan in the future, but I might consider saying I like them. (If that even makes any sense…)

Here’s the better older album and underneath it the newer not the best album.

And the newer album…

Which one do you think is better? Maybe you didn’t like either of them?

With warm hugs and gentle thuds – Keri

Please, leave a comment.

