Memory Lane · Writer's Workshop

Writer’s Workshop – First crush

Falling in love is hard, but having a crush is really easy. I’m going to take you on a trip down the memory lane again. I’m about to tell you about my very first crush.

The Prompts:

1.) A lesson you learned.
2.) The first concert you ever attended.
3.) Write a post inspired by the word: brave.
4.) 10 Things Will and Kate will need to survive baby’s first year.
5.) First crush.

5.) First crush.

My first crush was the boy next door. Not literally next door, but he lived close by. We used to play in the same park and that’s where we met. Our mom’s were sort of friends and I guess they introduced us.

His name was Heikki and he was sort of cute I guess. I was about five or six years old when I first realized I kind of liked him. I was good friends with his little sister and I visited them often enough or we would meet at the playground. It was a classic crush on a friend’s big brothers, but in this case the brother was the same age as me. (Later in life I’ve had crushes on friends’ big brothers and they’ve always been older)

I have a vague memory of him liking me back. Well, of course he would like me back… Nothing serious ever happened between us, though I think he may have been my first kiss. He was just a crush after all and it all faded before it even truly started. He wanted to become an attorney, like his father, and I wanted to be a singer, not as serious profession as his – our relationship was doomed from the start.

Sometimes our parents (moms mostly, and more his mom than mine if I remember correctly) would joke about us getting married when we got older. We never did, though I think he even had a ring ready for the right girl at the age of six. I have a really vague memory of seeing it once. The family was wealthy, so it could be true. It may have been some sort of inherited ring or something.

I’ve lost contact with him and his little sister through time, but we’re all friends on Facebook. Through Facebook I’ve found some little things about him and what he has become. I know he at least started to study law in order to pursue his dreams and he has been studying abroad, in Switzerland and in Australia. I know he has been traveling a lot around the world by just looking at his pictures. No mention of a girlfriend though.

Who was your first crush? Are you still friends with them? Did it maybe turn into something more than just a crush?

With warm hugs and gentle thuds – Keri

 

2 thoughts on “Writer’s Workshop – First crush

Please, leave a comment.

