Crafts, Recipes and Tutorials

Tomato soup -ish

I like cooking and I like to think most of what I cook turns out edible, which is good and makes me happy. My problem is that I’m not always, hardly ever, a very precise cook. If the recipe says “finely chopped” my ingredients usually gets just chopped. One cup is usually a cup-ish and if I don’t have olive oil I might just use vegetable oil instead. So I usually just throw things together, and if it makes me a bad cook than I am a bad cook.

Anyway. I have a challenge going on to learn how to make a new dish every month. I made tomato soup last month, on last Wednesday, and I’m about to share that recipe with you.

Tomato soup for four

Ingredients:

1 tbs Olive oil
650 g Plum tomatoes
1 Onion cut into four pieces
1 glove of Garlic finely sliced
5 dl Chicken stock
55 g dry pasta
Salt and pepper

Do this:

1. Heat the oil in a big pot and add the tomatoes, onion and garlic. Cook under a lid  on low heat for 45 minutes. Shake the pot carefully every now and then until the ingredients has mushed.

2. Empty the pot in a food processor or a blender and blend into a soft puree. Strain it through a sieve into a clean pot.

3. Add the chicken stock and let it come to a boil. Add pasta and once it boils again, let it cook until pasta is al dente. Season as you wish with salt and pepper.

Tomato soup -ish

Let me explain the title a little and the reason for the introduction of how I cook. I started to make soup and I did, but because I don’t measure too much, I threw in a little too much pasta, which of course absorbed most of the soup. In the end, I ended up making tomato pasta instead of a soup. I don’t really mind, because it tasted good and in the end that’s all that matters to me when there’s just me and the hubby eating. My husband didn’t even have to add any salt on his dish, which made me really happy. Now, that’s a triumph.

With warm hugs and gentle thuds – Keri

Please, leave a comment.

