Just life

Blogaversary!

I have a reason to celebrate today! First of all I’ve successfully avoided eating chocolate this month. It was hard at times and I was close to slipping many times, almost daily, last time today; I almost bought my self milk chocolate and had to convince myself that it actually is chocolate and I can’t possibly find a loophole in order to allow myself to have it. I was bummed, but I refused the urge. Yay me!

The second, (the bigger), reason for celebration is this blog! I wrote my first post exactly a year ago, which makes today my blog birthday! I’m really happy about that and instead of posting t tomato soup recipe I had originally planned to do (that’ll be up on Saturday), I’m going to interview myself.

Why did you want to start blogging?

I was sort bored and wanted to do something that would perhaps inspire me to do things I wouldn’t normally do. And that it certainly did; I’ve been doing more crafts than I normally would have, I’ve been trying new recipes (some of which I never thought I’d try), I’ve been getting to know people from around the world and bunch of other cool things.

I had tried blogging before, but I hadn’t been successful in maintaining my blog. I had become a blogging quitter and I didn’t want to be that anymore.

But mostly, I was just bored and needed a hobby.

What topics do you blog about?

I get this question a lot, which is probably just natural, whenever I mention I write a blog. I never know what to answer and just say “I blog about whatever comes to my mind”.

If I really think about it, I can come up with some topics I tend to write about more often than others – Crafts, food and internet.

Do you have a day job or do you blog full time?

I have job in the grocery department of a big department store as an assistant manager. I like my job a lot and I think I was pretty much made for it. I think that while I do enjoy blogging a lot, it’s not something I would want to do for a living. It’s a great hobby, but I’m definitely keeping my day job.

Is blogging what you expected it to be?

Yes and no. I expected it to be fun and sometimes time consuming. The decision to blog every day for a year has been a teeny bit frustrating at times, especially when I have a lot going on and I can’t seem to find the time or inspiration to write.

When I started this blog I wrote it just for me and didn’t even tell anyone about it. I didn’t care (and I still don’t) how many people would read my blog or follow it. It doesn’t mean I don’t care about views, I do, the more the better, but if there’s none someday, I’m not gonna stop blogging. I do this for me and I’m happy if you enjoy the ride!

I guess somewhere deep down I did naively expect to become an instant success and thought I would get hundreds of followers in no time. This didn’t happen and I’m fine with the followers I have. I have 145 followers today and I love every single one of them!

Where do you see your blog in a year?

I see it still existing, but it won’t be a daily feature. Hopefully I have doubled my followers and perhaps hit 500 views in one day. So far my busiest day has had 169 views, which is a lot. This happened on March 25 earlier this year. Ironically the most viewed post on that day was one of my first “crappy” posts titled “I don’t feel like blogging“.

I like the Friday’s feature list posts and would not be letting that go, though sometimes coming up with ideas for the lists is hard. I might change everything else around though. I’m not too attached on other features yet.

I might start a second blog if I ever have babies, so I wouldn’t be “cluttering” this blog with all the baby stuff. I know there are a ton of people who don’t want happy parents showing off their babies everywhere. I think a second blog for family life would be a good thing.

Five years?

The blog might still exist for all I know, or it might not. I don’t even have a five year plan for my life, let alone my blog.

Dare you even dream of ten?

No.

Do you have a favorite post?

I’m pretty sure the letter-posts are my favorites. I’ve written two; one for exclamation mark and another for Charlie in Perks of Being a Wallflower.

I really like those posts and encourage you to read them as well.

Do you regret writing any of your posts?

Not really. I hate every time I write one of lazy blogs, where I just share a video or I just write a few lines. Those are the days when I’m tired and uninspired. I know I could just not write, but I would hate myself even more if I missed a day because I’ve challenged myself to write something every day for a year. That year doesn’t come to a close until November.

I would regret not posting more than posting something crappy, but I do despise myself a little every time I do.

Who do you wish would read your blog if they’re not already?

My sister admitted she doesn’t read my blog regularly anymore. Apparently I’m not funny enough… πŸ˜€ For some reason I wish she would read it every day.

I also think some of my closest friends don’t read this blog and I sort of wish they would, just to support me. I know a few of them do, but it would mean a lot if the rest of them did too.

Any blog recommendations?

Rarasaur, of course! I think I’m falling in love with her a little and she should be worried.
Wanton Creation! I have a weird crush on him too and he should re-consider moving to Sweden. It could be too close to me.
Granny Reports. She’s the best! I think my mom would love her blog, so mom, go read this blog, (My mom reads my blog…)
Fairytale Pictures! She’s my best friend and she definitely reads my blog, so go read hers!

What’s the secret to happiness?

Be true to yourself! Always!

These questions are for you, my readers:

What topics would you say are my main topics on my blog?
Do you have a favorite post from me?
What would you like to see me do on this blog? Quest bloggers? Certain topics?
Do you have a favorite weekly feature, (Health Month, Wednesday Review, Top 7 on Fridays, Weekly Wrap Up)?
What sort of list would you like to see on a Friday? What made you start following and reading my blog?
Ask me anything?

HAPPY BIRTHDAY TO MY BLOG!

To wish my blog a happy birthday, leave a comment or a like maybe.

With warm hugs and gentle thuds – Keri

12 thoughts on “Blogaversary!

  1. **sings** Happy Birthday to your blog, happy birthday to your blog!

    Blog full time? Holy moly I can barely blog part time LOL.

    Why I read your blog. I admit I don’t read every post of any blog. I know I miss some. I usually read blogs that I can feel. Sounds strange, but sometimes you read posts on a blog and you can almost ‘feel’ the person doing the posts. Other times I like blogs about kids and preschool…or animals. I like to read sad blogs when I feel sad and happy or silly blogs when I feel happy and silly! For yours, I sense a very sweet, big hearted person behind the keyboard, so I read!

    1. Thank you for your kind words. I’m glad you like my posts and that you feel me. It makes me very happy. I think you might know me better than I thought. πŸ™‚

  2. Happy Birthday to your blog!

    I think you mainly write about the everyday life, mostly about what happens at home and sometimes a bit what happens elsewhere.

    I like the most the posts from the memory lane, they’re the funniest. I also like lists (like everyone, who reads my blog, knows), so I like Top 7 too.

    You’re blog is just fine like this but after November I do hope you stop writing those posts without content at all, they do seem like waste of the readers time too. And I do read everyone of your posts. πŸ™‚

    I read your blog because you’re my best friend. And it makes me feel better, you’re always so positive. Luv u!

  3. Happy Blogaversary! Some great thoughts you’ve shared on this post, and over the last year! Here’s hoping the next year is just as awesome for you as the last on your blog! πŸ™‚
    Also, thanks for the mention, and the odd compliment hahahaha (at least, that’s how I’m choosing to interpret it haha). πŸ™‚

  4. Happy Blogaversary, Keri!
    I’m so glad you’ve been blogging for a year, and I really hope you keep blogging – for many more years to come!
    It’s inspiring to see how committed you’ve been to the “Blog Everyday For a Year” challenge, I can’t seem to find it it me to do even three posts a week!
    Anyway, I wish you all the best in your blogging endeavors. Keep writing! πŸ™‚

Please, leave a comment.

