Wednesday Reviews

Wednesday Review – Orange is the new Black

Wednesday ReviewWhile suffering all sorts of aches around my body I came to the conclusion that watching TV would be the best sort of entertainment there is. Netflix is kind enough to offer full seasons of great TV shows, so I’ve had hours of fun.

Netflix premiered a new original TV series, Orange is the new black, two weeks ago and watched the whole first season. The series is based on Piper Kerman’s memoir Orange Is the New Black: My Year in a Women’s Prison. It takes place in women’s Litchfield federal prison, the Litch.

Piper Chapman (Taylor Schilling) made some not too wise decisions when she was younger, and after ten years she gets caught and is sent to prison to pay her debt to the society. She has to leave her fiancee, very pregnant best friend and a new business behind. In prison she makes new friends, creates enemies and learns something new along the way.

The series doesn’t concentrate only on things happening inside the prison. It consists of flashbacks to the inmate’s history and backstory of how and why they are in prison.

I watched the first season in one go and was quite happy with it. I enjoyed the storyline and I think the cast was very well picked out. I have not read the book the series is based on, which means I have no idea how much in the storyline actually happened and how much of everything is written in, but for me the series was a positive acquaintance.

It’s not OZ and I doubt another OZ could ever be created, but this series was worth of my time. I give Orange is the new black four thumbs up!

Four thumbs

With warm hugs and gentle thuds – Keri

 

One thought on “Wednesday Review – Orange is the new Black

Please, leave a comment.

