Writing prompts and challenges

I, the nomad

The daily prompt asked an interesting question today.

If you had the opportunity to live a nomadic life, traveling from place to place, would you do it? 

If you would have asked me this question ten years ago, I would have, without a doubt, answered “Yes!”. I would have loved to go and travel around the world little by little, staying longer in other places to work for a while to get more money and then move on again. This was something I would have loved to do, but I never did.

Today my answer to this question is, without a doubt, “No!”. I love comfort and stability. I would not enjoy living like a nomad at all. I even think that the ten year younger version of me would not have enjoyed the nomadic life for long and probably would have regretted the decision to go on the trip. She would have started to miss her friends, (though she would have made new ones along the way), her family, and her things, such as the many books she owns.

I belong home.

Home is where the books are. Home is where I can hang around without wearing pants or a bra. Home is where someone who loves is waiting for me. Home is where I know what’s inside the fridge.

That’s what’s home to me.

Home could be anywhere in the world, but it should remain stable.

With warm hugs and gentle thuds – Keri

2 thoughts on “I, the nomad

Please, leave a comment.

