Top-7 on Fridays

Top 7 – Stockholm

Top 7I’m planning to visit Stockholm at least once, maybe twice this summer and in early fall. The other trip I’ll be making with my husband, my brother-in-law and his girlfriend, the other trip will be with my sister. I’ve traveled to Stockholm many times before. It’s one of the easiest and cheapest places to travel to from Helsinki or Turku, just an over-night ferry-ride across the Baltic sea.

Usually the trips are copies of the previous trips; we get off board and head to the city, do a little shopping, eat something, shop a little more, and head back to the ferry to get back home over-night. Rarely we go to museums or see any of the actual sights. I’m planning to change that this summer.

This is a list of places I think would be cool to visit when I get to Stockholm.

#7: The TV-tower, kaknästornet

It’s a 155 meters tall tower that apparently has a great view across the city from the top. I think it would be great to visit that someday and perhaps get some cool pictures of the whole city.

Kaknästornet (Picture from visitstockholm.com)

#6: The old town, gamla stan

This is one of the greatest places in Stockholm and one place I visit every time I visit Stockholm. There’s always new things and interesting places to find. A cool place to visit.

#5: The modern museum, moderna museet

I enjoy visiting the modern museum, Kiasma, in Helsinki every now and then, so I might enjoy seeing some art in the modern museum in Stockholm.

#4: Shopping at the Nordiska Kompagniet

It’s one of the biggest, prettiest and oldest department stores in Stockholm. Definitely a great place to do some shopping!

Inside the Nordiska Kompagniet (Picture from Wikipedia)

#3: Drottningsholm Palace

The palace is the Versailles of Stockholm with all the beautiful gardens and magnificent buildings. I would love to pay a visit one day to get a glimpse of what it would be like to be a real princess.

#2: Skansen

It’s the world’s oldest outdoor museum with lots of things to see, from animals to a full replica of an average 19th-century town. I remember visiting Skansen as a kid and, if I remember correctly, it was great!

Skansen (Picture from Wikipedia)

#1: Djurgården

It was once royal hunting grounds, but has later been turned into one of the most gorgeous islands and park areas in Stockholm. If you only have a couple of hours to spend in Stockholm, I’s probably visit this place. There a re museums, amusement park, skansen and beautiful parks to see in the area. I wouldn’t want to miss that, so I’m pretty sure we’ll be visiting this island with my sister later this year.

Where would you go if you had a day or two in Stockholm?

With warm hugs and gentle thuds – Keri

Please, leave a comment.

