Writing prompts and challenges

If the world operated on barter system…

If money was never invented and we would have to survive by trading goods for goods or services based on our skills, would I survive?What skills do I have for trade?

Now that I think about it, I don’t have skills that I’m really good at and I doubt being just OK would not take me too far.

I’m not good with any kind of plants. It would be no use for me to start growing vegetables and such for trade, because I would not be able to get them to grow in the first place. If I by a huge miracle succeeded to grow a carrot or two, I doubt no one would want to trade anything for them.

I think I’m a fairly OK cook, but would services from an OK cook be needed? If so, what would I cook if I can’t even grow my own carrots? I would need to trade something to get the carrots to cook them. I’m pretty confident that in a barter-world, ready-cooked food would not be a big trading object, and definitely not when made by just an OK cook.

I’m not a doctor nor am I a nurse. I don’t have any skills to save a person’s life. Though I bet, if I would save your life, you’d be glad to give me your cow and a pig and I would survive fine for a while. Now I would even have something I could trade for something else.

I’m fairly OK sewer and I’ve made a few quilts in my life, so maybe I could do more of those. I used to be a rather talented with crocheting  and I think I could pick it up again quite fast. Maybe I could start a clothing business! I might struggle at first but with time I think I might succeed. At least I hope so.

However, my biggest asset in barter-world would be friendliness and the genuine urge to help. I’m sure I would survive just fine by just being helpful and I would enjoy that so much! I could look after your kids for a meal. Feed your cows for some clothing. Do your laundry and ironing ( I’m actually extremely good at that!) for wood to get the fire burning under the stove.

A smile can take you far!

With warm hugs and gentle thuds – Keri

This post was inspired by yesterday’s Daily PromptIf the world worked on a barter system, how would you fare? Would you have services to barter? Would you be successful, or would you struggle?

Please, leave a comment.

