Wednesday Reviews

Wednesday Review – To Have and Have Not

Wednesday ReviewAfter seeing the movie Midnight in Paris quite some time ago, I decided I need to read some Ernest Hemingway someday and I finally did. I read Hemingway’s To Have and Have Not and after a promising start, it took me forever to finish it.

It started off really great and I thought the story was exciting and mysterious, bu somewhere around mid-book the story took a slightly negative turn. All of sudden there were too many side characters and I wasn’t sure who was who, and how the characters knew each other. I was really confused and it also seemed like the story wasn’t really going anywhere. The story was very brutal as well, but that usually doesn’t put me off and a murder here and there is just fine if the story needs it. In this case I wasn’t too sure if all the killings were necessary.

This is the very first book I’ve ever read by Hemingway, and I admit I have no idea what kind of a writer he is (or was). I did read some of the reviews on Goodreads and some people did say this isn’t Hemingway’s best work. These reviews do encourage me to try another book by him, but maybe not for a while.

I was disappointed with this book and I’m only going to give it two thumbs up!

two thumbs up

With warm hugs and gentle thuds – Keri

 

Please, leave a comment.

