Writing prompts and challenges

I’m not asking for help…

The daily prompt:

When you’re unwell, do you allow others to take care of you, or do you prefer to soldier on alone? What does it take for you to ask for help?

I don’t go and ask for help too often, but when I’m sick I do not leave the bed, I require being taken care of. I’m not sure if I’ve always been this way; I recall a time when I was about 18 years old, still living at home with my mom. I had been feeling a bit ill, but in case I felt a bit better my mom kindly asked if I could do some cleaning up while she was at work.

It so happened that I couldn’t muster enough energy needed to do the cleaning up and I felt pretty bad about it, because I really seemed to be getting better. I got a lot worse during the next night and my dad took me to a doctor the next day. It turned out I had my very first pneumonia and I had to stay at the hospital for four days getting the medicine through an IV.

The whole point of this little story is that even though I was sick I wanted to help out, and felt bad when I couldn’t. Maybe I learned my lesson, because these days I do ask for help when I’m ill. I take the orders to rest seriously and ask for help as long as needed. I’m really good at that, but I hardly ever ask for help with anything else if I feel OK.

If I got like a ton of things to do at work or at home, I don’t ask for help. I’ll manage on my own. I work double speed if needed, but I don’t ask for help. However, if someone offers to help I accept all the help there is. I’m a master delegater and if your hands are free to help I will have a job for them.

I’m the sort of person who loves to help and don’t expect anything in return, but too often I forget to ask help for myself. I’ve gotten a bit better at it though and I’m working on it. Asking for help when you really need it is totally OK.

With warm hugs and gentle thuds – Keri

Please, leave a comment.

