Memory Lane · Writer's Workshop

Writer’s Workshop – I quit my job once

Actually I’ve quit my  job more than once for different reasons, though in every case one reason has usually been boredom. This trip down memory lane was inspired by the amazing writer’s workshop on mamakatslosinit.com.

The Prompts:
1.) Describe a time you made things…awkward.
2.) Write a post inspired by the word: bacon.
3.) Share a story about a sibling that still makes you smile.
4.) Tell us about a job you quit…why did you do it?
5.) Write down the first sight, sound, smell, and sensation you experienced on waking up today. Pick the one you’re most drawn to, and write.

4.) Tell us about a job you quit…why did you do it?

I’ve worked in multiple different grocery stores and the job is mostly the same wherever I go, only the people are different. I’ve not yet gotten bored with what I do, because my job description has changed often enough. I’ve usually just gotten bored with the city I’ve lived in at the time or the atmosphere at the workplace has been lousy.

The last time I quit my job was almost seven years ago. I was happy with the work that I did and my work-mates were a lot of fun. I was dating our assistant store manager, so life couldn’t get better.

We had been dating for almost a year by the time I decided it was time for me to quit this job and look for another. We were in love and happy as can be. Our only problem was that at home we were arguing about work stuff and at work we were arguing about work stuff. That wasn’t too good, so to safe our relationship I thought it was better for me to work somewhere else and he agreed.

To save our relationship wasn’t the only reason I decided to quit the job. I had gained a lot of responsibilities at work and the amount of work started to get a bit too overwhelming. The store wasn’t doing too good, which meant we didn’t hire anyone new if someone had quit, so with a smaller staff we still had to do all the same things as before. I was slowly drowning underneath the job and I was having a minor burn out, and it didn’t feel good.

So I quit, but not before I had gotten a new job. (Though this new job wasn’t great at all and I actually got fired from that, but that’s another story)

Turned out my decision to quit the job was the right one after all. About six years after I quit, I got married to that assistant store manager, and we plan to live happily ever after.

When was the last time you quit your job? Do you regret it? Do you have your dream job? What would you like to be when you grow up? Do you want to hear the story of when I got fired?

With warm hugs and gentle thuds – Keri

12 thoughts on “Writer’s Workshop – I quit my job once

  1. The last time I quit a job was in 2003, and it was the right move for me. my dream job & what I want to be when I grow up go hand in hand…and yes, I have it. I’m writing these days…and loving it.

    1. It always makes me so happy to hear when someone is actually doing what they really want to be doing. Lucky you! Though I do enjoy doing what I do as well, so lucky us, I guess! 🙂

  2. Awww, I’m glad it worked out for you and hubby 🙂 My husband and I worked for the same department store while we were dating, but it was a big place and we were never around each other.
    The last job I quit was in 2009 because I was about to have a baby. Now I’m a SAHM of 2 and more exhausted than I ever was when I worked. I keep trying to quit, but they won’t let me 😉

    Here from Mama Kat’s!

    1. Thanks for stopping by from Mama Kat’s! 😉

      I work in a department store at the moment and there are a few couples working in different departments as well, and they’re doing OK as far as I know. Me and my hubby worked in a rather small grocery store at the time and it wasn’t good for our relationship, but luckily me quitting was the right decision and we’re still happy together! 🙂

  3. I like your happy ending! Even though your new job didn’t work out, it sounds like quitting was the best choice.

    1. Quitting was definitely one of the best decisions I’ve ever made, though the job I switched to didn’t work out. Right after I got fired I had the chance to apply for a position in a well known department store and they hired me, which makes me think that being fired was actually meant to be. I still work in the same department store and my career is looking pretty good. 🙂

  4. I’m happy it worked out for you and your husband. Yay for happy endings. 🙂
    I quit my job in January to stay home because our family relocated 600 miles for my husband’s job, I’d just found out I was pregnant before the move, so we (my husband and I) decided it would be better for me to stay home for a while. I really liked my job though and still miss it so it has been tough. After our baby arrives in August and I recover, I plan to go back to work.

    1. Congrats for the baby, who seems to have chosen the correct time to arrive. 🙂
      It’s always a bummer when you love your job and you’re sort of forced to quit. Hopefully you’ll find something you love as much or at least close enough. 🙂

Please, leave a comment.

