Just life · Writing prompts and challenges

Broadening my horizons – Take three!

The daily post at wordpress.com posted a weekly writing challenge about broadening your horizons through comments last November. The challenge wanted to encourage bloggers to find new interesting blogs and comment on them. I was excited to take part in it, though I found the challenge to be harder than expected. I was actually so giddy about it I did it twice (Take 1, Take 2) and decided to do it again and again every now and then. Now the time has come for the Take three!

This time I went all out with commenting and first did a little catching up by commenting on all the comments on my posts I hadn’t yet commented on. Most comments I commented on were from blogger whose blogs were unknown for me, so I checked them out in case I would find something to comment on. And I did.

MJ from 154 Hidden Court had commented my post about Angry Hello Kitty Birds and I was glad to visit and comment on her blog. Though the commenting wasn’t too easy for some reason. I tried to post my comment perhaps five times in a row, resulting me almost losing my nerve and the comment to appear twice on the thread. I don’t know what I did to do that.

The second new blog I commented on today I found through the WordPress recommendations and I really liked it, so the recommendation was very spot on! The blog, Sorry Television, is basically about books. It’s written by Kira and she’s reading one book every week, which is pretty awesome. I love her writing style and the reviews are very easy and light to read.

If you didn’t know, commenting is a great way to get more views and perhaps even new followers. The next two blogs I found through comments on blogs I follow and I’m happy I did!

Chasing Cloud 9 is a blog written by Stacey. She reads a lot, which is always a huge plus for me. I absolutely love book blogs even though I already read almost too many of them. Reading is just so awesome! I’m also glad for finding yet another book (Slammed by Colleen Hoover) to add to my never ending “to read” pile.

In the blog named Serendipity, I found a post answering the question asked by today’s Daily Prompt. The question was about whether you’d be willing to give up on eating all together if a fully nutritious pill was invented to make eating unnecessary. Her answer was so in line with my thoughts I felt the sudden need to comment on it. If you’re wondering, I would never give up on food! Eating is too much fun to give up on!

The last, but certainly not least, blog I took a look at wasn’t exactly a new blog for me, I just had never read anything on it before. As you might know, I’m absolutely in love with Rarasaur’s blog, (some might even start thinking I’m forming some sort of girl crush on her), and the last blog I commented on today is actually Rarasaur’s husband’s blog. I’m actually a little bummed out I hadn’t checked I am Grayson earlier, but better late than never, right? The blog was actually a recommendation on my reader page in the “you may like” box, and I definitely liked this one!

Do you usually comment on the blogs you read? Do you read the comments on the blogs you read? Do you ever click on the comments to see their blogs?

With warm hugs and gentle thuds – Keri

 

One thought on “Broadening my horizons – Take three!

  1. I’m so sorry you had problems commenting on my blog – it’s not you, it’s me. Really. The spam has been out of control lately so I turned comment moderation on, which has proven to be a bad idea. Me and my bright ideas. Anyway, thanks for dropping in, and leaving a comment 🙂

Please, leave a comment.

