101 Things in 1001 Days · Crafts, Recipes and Tutorials

Ice cream from scratch

Last week I asked my readers to answer a little poll. In the poll I asked which thing from my “101 things in 1001 days”-list I should do next. “Make ice cream from scratch” was a clear winner, which means I already did it. I’m going to share my rhubarb ice cream recipe with you today.

“Go a month without chocolate” and “Create a memory jar” received votes as well and I decided to do them as well sometime soon. This means I’m going to go without chocolate next month and I hope one of my best friends won’t be making a chocolate cake for her birthday party in two weeks. I’ll be creating my memory jar as soon as ย find the correct kind of jar.

Back to the ice cream… I don’t own any fancy ice cream machines so you can do this recipe without an ice cream machine. It’s easy and creamy.

Rhubarb Ice Cream

Ingredients:

4 egg yolks (save the whites for meringue, recipe at the bottom)
1 dl sugar
3 dl mushed rhubarb
1 tbs confectioner’s sugar
citrus liqueur (I used honey rum instead)
4 dl cream

This is what you do:

Whisk the yolks and sugar to fluffy foam.
Flavor the rhubarb mush with the confectioner’s sugar and liqueur.
Whip the cream and mix all the ingredients together.
Put the mix in a ice cream machine or freeze it and mix every now and then. (I mixed it just once. I sort of may have forgotten to mix it.)

Serve it with caramel sauce, strawberries or small meringues.

Rhubarb Ice Cream

The meringues

Ingriedients:

4 egg whites
8 tbs sugar
food coloring

This is what you do:

Whip the egg whites in a completely dry bowl. Add the sugar gradually and mix until you can turn the bowl over and the foam sticks in. Add the food coloring and mix.
Extrude small foam heaps on a baking tray (use baking paper on the tray) and put them in the oven in 100ยฐC for about 90 minutes. You can keep them in the oven longer if they are still too moist.

This ice cream was delicious and the meringues were good too. I might try do ice cream again some time. It was a lot easier than I thought.

Have you ever made ice cream? What flavour ice cream did you do? Are you going to try and make ice cream someday?

With warm hugs and gentle thuds โ€“ Keri

2 thoughts on “Ice cream from scratch

  1. It came out beautifully! Of course, it’s still too much sugar for me to eat, but it looks lovely. ๐Ÿ™‚ Good luck on the month without chocolate! ๐Ÿ˜€

Please, leave a comment.

