Memory Lane · Writer's Workshop

Writer’s Workshop – First encounters with the world wide web

I’m taking a head start with this weeks writer’s workshop and might even post two workshop related posts this week. I’m actually pretty inspired to write about any of the prompts this week. I’d have my topics settled there for the rest of the week. 🙂

The Prompts:

1.) Your top 10 favorite YouTube channels.
2.) A long drive…
3.) Describe a talent or flaw that seems to be in your genes.
4.) When you first discovered the internet, what sites did you frequent most?
5.) Tell us what (or who) you’re crushing on.

4.) When you first discovered the internet, what sites did you frequent most?

I first discovered the internet as a teenager, which would be in mid and late 90’s. Computers weren’t that popular among my friends’ families and hardly no one had access to the internet at home. Our family never had computer, but one friend of mine had one and we, me and three other girls, used to hang around at her place a lot.

As I remember, we used to pretty much only visit different chat rooms. There was this radio station in Finland, Kiss FM, at the time and they had the most popular chat rooms in the country. We usually logged on to a chat room together and pretend we were older and cooler than we really were. I think most teenagers did that at the time and I wouldn’t be surprised if they still did today.

I got my own computer when I moved away from home in 2003. Believe it or not I was still visiting chat rooms, but this time I wasn’t trying to be cooler than I actually were. This time around I made new friends who I actually even met in real life. These new friends were mostly girls/women, so nothing romantic was involved. I’m not in touch with any of them anymore, but we had fun inside and outside of the internet.

Now that I’ve had my own computer for ten years, I’m visiting totally different sites. I don’t visit chat rooms anymore, but I’m still very into the social part of the internet. I think it’s cool how I can interact with people all over the world and even make new friends without ever actually meeting them.

I believe most bloggers enjoy the social side of the internet, but for some it’s a source of information. To me the internet is both and I’m a little bit in love with it.

With warm hugs and gentle thuds – Keri

4 thoughts on “Writer’s Workshop – First encounters with the world wide web

Please, leave a comment.

