Memory Lane · Writer's Workshop

Writer’s Workshop – News from the Past

Thursdays on my blog are dedicated to Mama Kat’s pretty much world famous Writer’s Workshop. I choose on of the five prompts Mama Kat has come up with and then I just write my blog post about it. Pretty simple isn’t it, and fun too!

The Prompts:

1.) How old were you? Share one of the first news stories you remember caring about.
2.) Write a list of things you would have done differently online, know what you now know about blogging and social media.
3.) Chances are you’ve heard of the Reasons My Son Is Crying tumblr page…write your own version.
4.) Share something that makes you laugh.
5.) Refreshments anyone? Prepare a drink for us and share the recipe!

1.) How old were you? Share one of the first news stories you remember caring about.

I was 14 years old when the child beauty pageant queen JonBenét Ramsey was murdered. As a teenager I was always just skimming through the newspapers and usually everything I actually read was the cartoons, but the murder of the beautiful six year old little girl was shocking to me. It’s the first news I remember really caring about.

I remember being sure the parents did it, but according to wikipedia they were announced innocent and no longer suspects in 2008. The case is still unsolved, but the DNA sample of the unknown intruder found at the crime scene is still being checked against the DNA database on a weekly basis. Maybe someday a new entry to the database matches and the case can be closed and never reopened.

With warm hugs and gentle thuds – Keri

4 thoughts on “Writer’s Workshop – News from the Past

  1. Yes! That was sad! I can’t remember for sure, but I think I was in college when that happened. I remember being sure it was the parents somehow too 😦
    The world may never know I guess…

  2. This was such a sad story! I think I was a bit older than you, but I’ve always wondered who was responsible for that. The media really laid into the parents, but I just don’t know!

Please, leave a comment.

