Writing prompts and challenges

A working clone

I’m pretty sure I’m against human cloning, but I’m willing to experiment with the idea of cloning myself. This experimenting thought was planted in me by the Daily prompt.

If you could clone yourself, how would you split up your responsibilities?

If I understand cloning correctly, a clone has the exact same genes as the original from where it’s being cloned. A clone can however have their own opinions on things and their own way of handling things. To be able to share my responsibilities with my clone, I’m going to have to assume she’s exactly like me in every way.

This being said and assuming the clone-me is as hard-working as I am I would definitely make the clone go to work for me. It’s not that I don’t like what I do, it’s just that there are so many other things I’d much rather do myself. I would have time to take better care of my home; I’d clean the house better and more often if I didn’t have to go to work. I would also have time to do more crafts and maybe travel a little. I might even start a course on something and learn a new skill while I’m at it. Maybe I should make my clone get another job as well; hobbies aren’t that cheap.

clone me

If my clone would refuse to get another job I’d share some of the household chores. I would make her do all the dusting and hoovering. I would be fine doing all the putting away of things. I like to be in control and knowing where my things are. I constantly get nervous when my dear husband needs to find something and I know he is the one who has put it somewhere and I have know idea where the thing is. It’s so frustrating, so I would definitely have to be the one who puts all the stuff back into its place.

A clone could get handy really handy indeed; only if they wouldn’t have mind of their own. At the end of the day, I’m really happy to be the unique and magnificent me! I’m awesome!

What chores and responsibilities would you share with your clone-self?

With warm hugs and gentle thuds – Keri

Please, leave a comment.

