Memory Lane · Writing prompts and challenges

Trip Down Memory Lane – Fleeting moment with a stranger

Today’s memory is inspired my the Daily Prompt.

Have you ever had a random encounter or fleeting moment with a stranger that stuck with you?

I was having the time of my life living in England as an au pair ten years ago. It was a lot of fun and met some great people there, who I’m still in contact with. This memory however has nothing to do with them, but a woman I met at an airport.

I was traveling back home to spend Christmas with my family and I had to fly via Frankfurt. This nice British woman asked me for a light (yes, I smoked back then) and we shared a smoke while we were waiting to board on our continuation flight. So we talked some about weather and stuff; I’ve never been too good with small talk, (the Finnish culture doesn’t really support it), but I felt comfortable talking with her.

We didn’t talk for long, but the reason I still remember her after all these years is something she said. She was very surprised when she found out I was actually from Finland. She said my English is so good and I have no foreign accent to it, that she was sure I was British as well. This made the 20-year-old me feel really good. It still does.

With warm hugs and gentle thuds – Keri

Please, leave a comment.

