Writing prompts and challenges

Writer’s Workshop – My Favorite Place

I had a sudden inspiration to write a poem today. Well, I had the sudden inspiration when I read the prompts for this week’s Writer’s Workshop, but isn’t that the whole point; to get inspired?

The Prompts:

1.) Something that gave you a headache.
2.) List of 10 things that will make you blush.
3.) Write a poem about your favorite place to be.
4.) Something you stole.
5.) Tell us about a time you had to apologize.

3.) Write a poem about your favorite place to be.

Writing easy and silly poems has been something I like to do ever since I was a teenager. I once wrote a really long poem for my friend’s 16th birthday and it was such a hit I continued to write them.

I’ve ever since written piles of poems for different birthdays, weddings and christenings, but it wasn’t until I began to blog that I started writing poems in English (see the previous ones: Book Spine Poem, Dominating the World With Kindness, I Wish I Were, Thursday, Red, Rue Atch, Haiku ) Though it’s not as easy for me to write poems in English than it is in Finnish, it’s still a lot of fun.

This poem is about my favorite place.

I enjoy being here and there and just hanging around
But my favorite place has yet to be found
I like peace and quiet as well as the hustle
I love a small cottage as well as a castle
I’ve traveled a bit and there’s still places to see
Where in the world could my favorite place be?

After extremely fierce pondering
I came to think of a certain feeling
The feeling I have when a loved one is near
That’s when I feel absolutely no fear
Wherever on Earth my loved ones shall be
That place is my favorite and there will be me!

My favorite place is where my loved ones are, and if there’s food, it always makes it better.

What’s your favorite place to be?

With warm hugs and gentle thuds – Keri

7 thoughts on “Writer’s Workshop – My Favorite Place

Please, leave a comment.

