101 Things in 1001 Days

The Stagger Rats

I’ve given myself 101 things to do in 1001 days and one of them is to listen to 10 albums by artists or bands who I’ve never listened to before. A friend of mine, who is actually traveling around Asia at the moment, shared a music video by The Stagger Rats (see the video below) on Facebook yesterday. I watched it and thought “this is some really good stuff, maybe I should listen to a whole album by them”.

So I did.

The band comes from Edinburgh and they’ve released just one album, Scorpio Leisure, which is pretty good stuff from the beginning to the end.

This is how they describe themselves on their home page:

The Stagger Rats were borne out of love under a bad sign, the love children of a mythical creature long lost to science, but never to the ear of a musician. They harmonise their gutter pop sedative straight to the main vein of happiness. Let them wash over you, they are a truly unique wave that restores the soul and jangles your extremities. Their debut album ‘Scorpio Leisure’, produced by Owen Morris (Oasis, The Verve, The View), features singles ‘Fuzzy Fuzzy’, ‘I’m in Love’ and the newly-released ‘Sleeping Off Ecstasy’, and is sure to dent your skull.

I couldn’t have described them any better. The music definitely jangles my extremities and it sure did dent my skull.

They categorise their music as Gutter Pop and I have never even heard of a music genre called Gutter Pop. I tried to Google it but couldn’t find anything useful on it, (Google failed me). To me they sound very British and I wasn’t surprised to learn that they are actually from Scotland.

I guess I like this sort of music – I’ve now listened to the album about four times in a row and still doesn’t bore or sicken me.

What should I listen to next?

With warm hugs and gentle thuds – Keri

Please, leave a comment.

