Writing prompts and challenges

If it’s a remake I won’t watch it

Americans doing things over is just stupid.

The Americans have a habit of doing their own versions of really good series or movies done in other countries. A few examples are The Office, Life on Mars and the Millennium Trilogy of Stieg Larsson.

The Original Office

I refuse to watch these remakes especially if I’ve seen and loved the original. I don’t really understand the point even. I get it that other countries do their own versions of reality or game shows, such as the Survivor, Top Gear, Weakest Link or Big Brother, but why remake scripted series or movies?

As if someone in Finland or anywhere else could remake How I Met Your Mother. Who else could ever play Barney Stinson if not Neil Patrick Harris.

To me Mikael Nyqvist and Noomi Rapace are the only ones to play Michael Blomkvist and Lisbeth Salander. The Hollywood version of Män Som Hatar Kvinnor, (Girl With the Dragon Tattoo) apparently still happens in Sweden and the characters are Swedish, but no one speaks Swedish! It’s just stupid!

Michael Nyqvist and Noomi Rapace as Mikael Blomkvist and Lisbeth Salander

This subject is a huge pet peeve of mine and I get hugely annoyed when I realise Hollywood has done yet another remake of something already good.

I was inspired to write about this subject by the Prompts for the Promptless created by Rarasaur, who has already created eight prompts and I’m finally jumping on board. The prompt was to share my own personal Litmus test or work around the subject.

The Litmus Test is a test in which a single factor (as an attitude, event, or fact) is decisive.  In other words, it’s a single question test, not necessarily related to the information that is gleaned from the test.
(First sentence from m-w.com)

In a nutshell my Litmus test would be – If it’s a remake I won’t watch it!

With warm hugs and gentle thuds – Keri

5 thoughts on “If it’s a remake I won’t watch it

  1. Same here! I’ll watch a “reinvention” like 21 Jumpstreet, but not a flat out remake. One of my favorite British shows, Couplings, was made into an absolutely horrid American remake– I watched about 10 minutes and then reverted back to my rule of thumb. No remakes! 🙂 Thanks for participating!

Please, leave a comment.

