Wednesday Reviews

Wednesday Review – Mudbloods and Murmurs

Wednesday Review

I began my mission to read all the Harry Potter books, (again), and watch all the Harry Potter movies, (again). I just started the third book yesterday, so in this post I’ll share my thoughts about Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets.

The Book

The second book introduces us to Dobby, the house elf. I think quite many Harry Potter fans love Dobby, but I hated the elf in the first scene when he bothered Harry at the most unsuitable time. I’m not sure if I exactly liked the elf by the end of the book, but he was OK, (somewhere along the rest of the books I learned to like him quite a bit).

Another new character in the book is the new defense against the dark arts teacher, Gilderoy Lockhart, who is just too full of himself.

I like the story in Chamber of Secrets more comparing to the Philosopher’s Stone. It’s much more exciting and more eventful I guess. It’s a real mystery to the reader to the very end trying to figure out who has opened the Chamber of Secrets. It’s hard to say who I originally thought is was, (it was a while ago when I read it the first time), but I was definitely surprised by the outcome.

I liked this book and I will most certainly read it again someday. I give Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets three and a half thumbs up!

Three and a half thumbs up

The Movie

I remember the first time I saw this movie like it was yesterday. I was visiting a friend in northern Norway and he had it on his shelve (or computer most likely) and I asked if we could watch it together because I had never seen it before. I remember feeling really silly because the movie was a lot scarier than I thought it would be. I think I actually hid behind a pillow during the scariest bits.

This movie has created some good memories for me, which is why I probably like this movie more than if didn’t have them. Be that as it may, I think Kenneth Branagh was perfect as Gilderoy Lockhart.

I give the second Harry Potter movie three and a half thumbs up!

Three and a half thumbs up

With warm hugs and gentle thuds – Keri

One thought on “Wednesday Review – Mudbloods and Murmurs

Please, leave a comment.

