Writing prompts and challenges

Inspired to write a haiku

The daily prompt of today was somewhat intriguing, so I decided to give it ago and see what I come up with.

The Prompts was.

Head to “Blogs I Follow” in the Reader. Scroll down to the third post in the list. Take the third sentence in the post, and work it into your own.

And that’s exactly what I did. The third post on the list was about how people sometimes get confused on what really is a haiku and it was written by Matt at Wanton Creation. I had to double check to find the third sentence in his post, (he writes some damn long sentences), which is:

This in itself is a bit of a contentious issue – some believe that it is not a true haiku unless in Japanese, as that language has features that help the haiku to be appreciated on a greater level than in English.

First of all, I’ve never been too into poetry let alone haiku. I do come up with some pretty funny rhymes for birthdays and that sort, but serious poetry isn’t really my thing.

Due to my lack of knowledge on haiku I took a little trip to Wikipedia and did some research to maybe come up with a haiku of my own. I found out that haiku is a Japanese poetic form consisting of 17 phonetic sounds, “on”, in three phrases of 5,7 and 5.

Some say that a haiku in English isn’t a haiku at all, for it consists of 17 syllables instead of phonetic sounds. Perhaps they should announce that only haiku’s in Japanese are allowed to be called haiku’s in that case.

As I learned from the post at Wanton Creation, a haiku should have as few verbs as possible and it should reference the season somehow.

Knowing all this I wrote a haiku. At least I think it’s a haiku, though I don’t really mind if it isn’t, at least I learned something new today.

Sunshine bright all day
Cats excited, hunt senses out
Springtime greatness, yey

Do you like haiku’s? Have you ever written one?

With warm hugs and gentle thuds – Keri

7 thoughts on “Inspired to write a haiku

  1. Hahaha I’m sorry, I really do write long sentences sometimes, don’t I? I was writing that post late at night, and generally the more tired I am, the more I ramble and lengthen my sentences. Still, I’m glad you learned something new and gave the haiku form a shot – I’d say that’s a haiku for sure! And a pretty good one for a first attempt. You’ll find they get a lot easier very quickly, too! 🙂

    1. The most challenging part for me was to count the syllables, because English isn’t my native language, but thanks to Google I think I got them right. I might actually try haiku again sometime. 🙂

Please, leave a comment.

