Writing prompts and challenges

Changing my point of view

I’ve become accustomed to taking part on the Writer’s Workshop hosted by Mama Kat at Mama Kat’s losing it, but the daily prompt today was too interesting to not write about.

The Daily Prompt

Tell us about a time you did a 180 — changed your views on something, reversed a decision, or acted in a way you ordinarily don’t.

This incident where I had to change my view about someone happened quite recently actually.

I’m usually very open-minded when meeting new people and hardly ever think I don’t like someone if I haven’t had a chance to get to know them. There is this one girl who I’ve known for quite a long time through a bunch of friends, but we’ve never really gotten the chance to get to know each other well.

I judged her mostly based on her looks and the fact that she wouldn’t care to talk to me. I had decided I disliked her and thought she must be a bratty and dumb girl. I initially thought she looked down on me and probably thought I was as dumb as I thought she was.

When my very bestest friend announced she was going to take this girl as her roommate I thought I must have judged this girl wrong. My best friend would certainly not be living with that sort of girl who I thought this girl was.

I opened up to my best friend about this less than a month ago when I was visiting her. I knew I would have to have some sort of contact with her roommate, so I wanted to be clear that I had doubts, but I was willing to change my mind if needed.

When I finally really met her and spent a lot of time with her, I totally changed my mind. She’s one of the smartest, funnest and brightest girls I know. I did confess to her that I had had negative thoughts about her before, and now I’m very glad that I had been so wrong.

Turns out this girl was just shy and maybe a little withdrawn around new people. That’s why she probably hadn’t had that much contact with me and I had just interpreted her wrong.

Sometimes it’s just good to be wrong!

With warm hugs and gentle thuds – Keri

2 thoughts on “Changing my point of view

Please, leave a comment.

