Writing prompts and challenges

I lost a letter from the alphabet

I’m going to try the almost impossible and write this post without using the letter between J and L in the alphabet. To have it easy, I tried to choose the letter that would be the less used letter in the English language. So far I’m doing great! I thought of choosing a vowel, but that would have been too ambitious for me. Maybe if I ever decide to do this again, I could choose something harder, such as N or T.

You might wonder why I’m doing this. The answer is the daily prompt at wordpress.com. I may just have chosen the easiest letter to leave out for I’m fortunate enough to be able to quote the prompt, because it doesn’t have the letter either.

The Prompt

There are 26 letters in the English language, and we need every single one of them. Want proof? Choose a letter and write a blog post without using it.

I wanted to write about my progress on the 50/50 challenge and all the other hundreds of challenges I’m participating in, and so I will.

50/50 Challenge

I feel that I’m doing rather good on my 50/50 challenge. I’ve already seen 30 movies this year and March has hardly begun. I’m really glad about that. This same time last year I had probably seen just about five films, which means my progress is magnificent!

I’m also happy that most of the movies I’ve seen have been extremely good, Argo and Les Miserables being at the top of my list. This same time last year I had probably seen just about five films, which means my progress is magnificent!

The reading on the other hand is where I’m falling behind. I’ve only read seven novels this year and six of them I read in January. I really need to get my reading going again. I guess I just saw too many movies last month and that’s why I’m behind schedule.

Want to see full list of movies and novels I’ve seen or read? Go see my challenge page for the 50/50 challenge.

101 Things to do in 1001 days

I’m not doing as well as I wish I would. I’ve completed only 3% of the challenge and I’ve got 885 days left. For my defense, most of the challenges within this challenge are year-long challenges, so I’m hoping by this time next year, I’m doing a lot better.

There is a page dedicated to this challenge as well. See what I’m challenging myself to do here!

TBR Pile Challenge 2013

One of the 101 challenges is to read one novel a month, which is why I thought this challenge would be easy peasy, lemon squeesy. To read 12 novels I already own in a year, should be easy, but why have I read none of them. I’m going to get the hang of it again soon, I hope.

I just created a page for this challenge as well. Go and have a glimpse of the brand new page for the TBR Pile 2013 and gaze at the novels I’m planning to read.

Now that I’ve come to the conclusion that I don’t read enough, I’m going to change that and start reading again. I have my winter vacation from the “salt mines” (no I don’t go to the salt mines every morning. Why don’t you try and find a fun synonym for the word that is your job, because it has the letter you’re forbidden to use) after next Sunday for seven days, so I should have loads of time for reading.

With warm hugs and gentle thuds – .eri

P.S. About the prompt. I probably did choose a letter that was a bit too easy to leave out. I had to change some of the words I would have used if I was allowed to though. Please, tell me if you find an error, and you spot where I’ve used the letter I wasn’t supposed to.

P.P.S. Is there really no synonym for the word describing the time between Monday and Sunday?

One thought on “I lost a letter from the alphabet

Please, leave a comment.

