101 Things in 1001 Days · Crafts, Recipes and Tutorials

Mille Foglie (Napoleons)

Ever since last November I’ve learned how to create something I’ve never done before in the kitchen. So far everything I’ve tried has turned amazing and delicious but as I was making the Mille Foglie from the Soprano’s cookbook everything seemed to go wrong. This isn’t a success story.

I was excited as a bee going to the grocery store to buy the puff pastry and some eggs. I had written my long list down in the morning but it was now lying flat on the kitchen table waiting for me to come home. I couldn’t find the puff pastry so I figured the fillo dough should do the trick just fine and I was silently celebrating for not having to do any rolling.

When I got home and started to gather the ingredients on the table I noticed the eggs missing. I forgot to buy them! Luckily after a little rummaging through the fridge I managed to get four medium sized eggs and decided that would do just fine.

Surprisingly enough I did eventually have all the ingredients ready and I started to bake. I haven’t baked too much and all I’ve ever baked has never turned out more than moderately OK. I think my biggest problem is not reading the recipe through well enough.

As I was whisking the egg yolks and milk together not knowing whether it should stiffen or not, I ended up adding the vanilla in too soon, but I figured it tastes the same no matter when I but it in. While cooking the final stages of the pastry cream on the stove, stirring it like a mad woman, I somehow managed to get it burned and the whole pastry cream turned lumpy as teenager. But the taste was OK, I guess.

The fillo dough didn’t work with this recipe at all. It didn’t turn up to be airy and delicious as it should have been. It ended up being quite flat and plastic. So if you ever try this recipe you should definitely get the puff pastry!

Mille Foglie

This is what my Mille Foglie turned out to be. Maybe I’ll try this one again someday, to see if I can learn from my mistakes. Please try the recipe though! If I failed, it most certainly means you wont!

INGREDIENTS
2 cups milk
1/4 cup sugar
1/4 cup flour
3 egg yolks
2 tsp vanilla
1 lb frozen puff pastry, thawed
icing sugar
DIRECTIONS
1. Bring 1 cup milk and sugar to a simmer, stirring to dissolve sugar; remove from heat.
2. Whisk egg yolks with remaining cup of milk; sift flour over yolks, whisking until smooth. Gradually beat in hot milk.
3. Transfer mixture to a saucepan and return to heat. Cook, stirring constantly until mixture begins to boil; reduce heat and cook for another 30 seconds. Remove from heat and stir in vanilla. Transfer to a bowl, cover with saran wrap. Press saran directly onto surface to prevent a skin forming. Chill well.
4. On a lightly floured surface, roll puff pastry to a 14 x 12″ rectangle Place on an ungreased baking sheet; chill for 30 minutes. 
5. 400F.
6. Using a fork, price dough all over. Invert on an ungreased baking sheet on top of the dough. Bake for 10 minutes. Remove and price dough again. Bake for another 15-20 minutes or until pastry is golden brown. Let pastry cool completely on a rack. 
7. With a serrated knife, cut pastry lengthwise into 3 slices. Spread half of the pastry cream onto 1 slice. Top with a second layer and spread on remaining cream. Place remaining layer on top. Chill up to 4 hours before serving. 
8. Sprinkle with icing sugar and slice.
With warm hugs and gentle thuds – Keri
Please, leave a comment.

