Wednesday Reviews

Wednesday Review – Oscar movies!

Wednesday ReviewI’ve not reviewed things in a long time, so I guess I have some catching up to do. To get right on track I’ll review five movies today. Don’t worry, they’ll be short reviews.

Almost a month ago I wrote a top seven list of the movies nominated for best picture at this year’s Oscars. In that post I mentioned I’m planning to see them all before the winners are announced and I’m doing great. I’ve seen five out ten so far. I’ve also seen two that has been nominated for other categories, which I didn’t even plan to go and see.

Here I go…

Life of Pi:

I loved it! It was visually beautiful and the story was interesting. I laughed, cried, felt frightened and relieved during the movie. It was a great experience! I give Life of Pi four thumbs up!

Four thumbs

 

Beasts of the Southern Wild:

This movie has definitely deserved its place as a nominee for best picture! It was a great movie, though maybe a bit confusing at times. Maybe I just need to see it again. I give Beasts of the Southern Wild three thumbs up!

Three thumbs

Django Unchained:

This has been my favorite of the the nominees for best picture. I’ve always liked Tarantino’s movies, but I think he just gets better and better. Django was fun to watch! I give Django Unchained five thumbs up!

Five Thumbs

 

Silver Linings Playbook:

I liked this movie and I want to see it again someday, but I don’t think it was too special and while watching it I kept thinking “why is this movie nominated for best picture?”. Is it really that special and I just don’t get it? I give Silver Linings Playbook three and a half thumbs up!

Three and a half thumbs up

Zero Dark Thirty:

The fact that I love Jessica Chastain like crazy perhaps made me like this movie more than I normally would have. Or maybe the movie was just that great, either way, I liked it! I give Zero Dark Thirty four thumbs up!

Four thumbs

If you want to know what other movies I’ve seen so far this year, take a look at the 50/50 challenge page. I’ll list all the movies I see and the books I read on that page!

With warm hugs and gentle thuds – Keri

2 thoughts on “Wednesday Review – Oscar movies!

  1. I love your review, there short and fresh but you can still get the main idea of the movie. According to your recommendation I have to see Life of Pi, because I agree with you on Django, Silver Linings and Zero Dark Trinity. Have you seen Lincoln or Amour?

    1. Thanks for your comment! I haven’t seen Lincoln or Amour yet. Amour hasn’t premiered in Finland yet, so I won’t be able to see it until Friday next week. I’m planning to see Lincoln before the Oscars, as well as Argo and Les Miserables. Have you seen them?

Please, leave a comment.

