Writer's Workshop

Writer’s Workshop – Red

I don’t usually get angry that much, but when some driver splashed some dirty and wet slushy snow all over me today, I was fuming! And when about a minute afterwards I was sitting in a bus checking this weeks prompts for Writer’s Workshop, I knew exactly what I was going to write about!

The Prompts:

1.) Last week I opened the opportunity to write an open letter to men with a  word of advice, an issue you’d like to address, or a solution to a problem. This week? Hand over the reigns and let your husband write his OWN open letter to women.
2.) 5 Random facts about you and your family. (inspired by Nice Girl Notes)
3.) The last time you were sick…
4.) Write a blog post inspired by the word “red”.
5.) Your second grade teacher.

#4) Write a blog post inspired by the word “red”.

Instead of just ranting I let my creativity flow and I wrote a poem about the things that tick me off.

RANT
Sometimes I get really angry and annoyed
Which is something I try my best to avoid
Everyone needs to rant sometimes, I bet
So these are the times when I usually see red
When I see you on the playground with your toddler
You should maybe play with her, instead you don’t even watch her
When customers want to buy groceries we don’t sell
They bought something from Tahiti, and now give me hell
When I register somewhere and use a password of mine
It won’t be accepted because the last number ain’t nine
When the waitress tells you the happy hour specials
The list won’t change just because you want enchiladas
When I’m lying comfortably in my bed at night, you see
And all of a sudden I feel the urge to pee
These are some of the things that get on my nerves
Hopefully karma will give us what we deserve

There’s a woman in my neighborhood who has a toddler and sometimes I see them on the playground. The child is always playing by herself while her mom (I assume she’s the mom, I’m not sure) is probably checking her facebook on her phone. I know she might have an explanation for using her phone, but this happens every time I see her. I feel sorry for the child for not having anyone to play with.

I work in a grocery store and customers are constantly bugging us with something they bought from France or anywhere else. They keep asking, why can’t we order this or that amazing product to our store, because now they have to travel miles to get it. Well dear customer, maybe no one imports the product to our country and maybe the product don’t have the market around here. I would love to be able to buy Revels or Cadbury’s Twirls from Finland, but I can’t. At least now I have even more the reason to travel to UK more often.

Why are the password requirements so absurd these days? I use tons of different passwords and pin numbers at home and at work and it’s getting difficult to remember them all. So when I want to register somewhere and not even one of the passwords I already have meet the requirements, because it’s not long enough or it doesn’t have a capital letter or a number in it, I just get annoyed!

We had a date night on Monday with my husband and we went out to eat. I overheard the waitress telling the couple sitting quite close to us about the happy hour specials and mentioned which of the four pizzas would be cheaper. For some reason the female customer had to ask if the pepperoni pizza would be cheaper as well. The waitress said no and repeated which ones the special prized pizzas were. This isn’t really a big deal, but I have friends who work as waitresses and I can imagine how many times they have to repeat themselves because customers ask stupid questions. Something doesn’t magically appear on the list just because you crave for it.

I wonder if I ever learn to go to pee before going to bed.

With warm hugs and gentle thuds – Keri

4 thoughts on “Writer’s Workshop – Red

  1. I totally get the password thing—I really hate our medical coverage for that because I have to have so many letters, a number & a symbol to get into it and they want a new one every 3 months. forget it.

Please, leave a comment.

