101 Things in 1001 Days

Mumford and Sons

Ted Dwane, Ben Lovett, Marcus Mumford and Winston Marshall are Mumford and Sons

My sister, knowing about my 101 things to do in 1001 days project and realizing I’ve never listened to the band, suggested I should listen to Mumford and Sons. Number 67 on my list encourages me to listen to 10 albums by artists I’ve never listened to before.

Mumford and Sons isn’t a bad thing for my eardrums to listen to. They are an English folk rock band and their sound is just that. You can find all the traditional folk instruments such as banjo, mandolin and resonator guitar in their songs, which give the music it’s signature sound. I’m also in love with Marcus Mumford‘s distinctive voice.

Mumford and Sons have existed since the year of 2007. They recorded their first album ‘Sigh No More’ in 2009. The album reached number one in Ireland, Australia and New Zealand and eventually peaked at number two on the UK album chart and the Billboard 200 in the US. The band’s second studio album ‘Babel’ was released in September 2012. The album debuted at number one in the UK and US, becoming the fastest selling album of 2012 in the UK, and the biggest selling debut in 2012 in the US

I decided to listen to their newest album ‘Babel’ and I really like what I hear. I could probably listen to this album over and over again. I would characterize it as “feel-goo-music” that just makes you feel better inside and the world to seem like a better place. I should definitely have a listen to their first album ‘Sigh No More’ to be able to tell if they’ve gotten better or not, or just stayed as they are.

Have a listen to their album below and let your thoughts pour into your fingers to let me know what you think.

With warm hugs and gentle thuds – Keri

This post is also part of my 101 Things challenge, where I try to listen to ten albums by artists I have never listened to before. Feel free to suggest bands and artist in the comments you think I probably have not listened to but i definitely should.

4 thoughts on “Mumford and Sons

  1. I’m glad you like them. Personally I think Sigh No More is better than Babel, but hey it’s just a matter of preference 🙂 Good luck with your project!

Please, leave a comment.

