Writing prompts and challenges

Broadening my horizons

When I saw the weekly writing challenge last Monday, I immediately decided I was going to take part in it this week, and that I’d post my part on Thursday. That’s today! Two hours ago I wasn’t sure if I was going to make it, but amazingly here I am writing it.

I’m a very social person, I’m into the whole social media world and I love meeting new people in person as well. This is why I thought this challenge was going to be a piece of cake. How wrong was I ever!

I started exploring the wonders of wordpress.com and I did find many interesting blogs, I even followed a few, but the comments just wouldn’t appear. I was shocked to realize that maybe I just couldn’t do it. Perhaps I’m more insecure than I ever thought, even though I’m known to be one of the most confident people among my friends. Maybe, in social media, I’m just some kind of wannabe-social person, who is just unable to make new friends and connect with other bloggers.

But then a mini-miracle happened and I read a post by ‘Tea with a Pirate’ about Finnish people and how they don’t do small talk no matter how friendly and nice they are. We Finns like the quiet. 🙂 The post made me wanna prove this wrong, I could definitely do small talk, and commenting on posts I think are amazing should be an easy task.

Then I had another small setback with the coolest and funniest blog about funny things kids say. I wanted to comment on one of the posts, but the comments were disabled. To my dismay the comments were disabled on every post and I started to get a bit anxious again. Now that I finally started commenting and breaking the ice, I wasn’t able to do it.

Eventually I found four more blogs I thought were absolutely gorgeous and witty. Like this delicious food blog, Back on track in the kitchen, where my mind was blown by the cool and innovative ideas, like what to choose as your side-dish to chili con carne. I will try the recipe for sure!

I was probably getting really hungry and I was going through a bunch of other food blogs and I ended up on Whole Larder Love, where you’re being encouraged to grow your own food and make the most delicious meals from what you have on your backyard. This ricotta gnocchi recipe is simple and easy enough for even me to try.

I love doing crafts, though I don’t think I’m too good at it, so it’s natural that I might enjoy a crafts blog. Maedchenmitherzt, lady with a heart (if my German translation is correct) does crafts and I got inspired by her self-made advent calendar for Christmas. I can’t wait what else she comes up with.

The last comment of this challenge I made on a post about writer’s block by Studio Mothers. I had a writer’s block just a couple of weeks ago and today I suffered from a serious commenter’s block, but now I just refuse to believe in such a block and I just keep on writing.

This challenge was very challenging for me, but it was fun and entertaining as well. It even made me realize some new things about myself. But what it did that actually matters, is the blogs that I found and the inspiration those blogs and blogger gave me. I can just imagine the inspiration they give me in the future. I can’t wait to do it again!

With warm hugs and gentle thuds – Keri

6 thoughts on “Broadening my horizons

  1. You ARE very social I see- though small talk and commenting are quite different! What I REALLY like about Finns is they don’t do that awful small talk you get in some other countries,sometimes, when people feel they just must fill-up silence with gibberish about the weather or other such non-subject – its actually a very good point not to do that – I think commenting is quite different though. I may add that my best penpals used to be Finnish – but yes, Finns are very quiet indeed – lovely post this one, I really enjoyed its concept. Thanks so much.

    1. Thank you for your nice words, I’m glad you enjoyed my post! You’re right and I agree that certain kind of small talk could be a little annoying. And today I learned that commenting actually is a lot different, but is was fun as well. Have a nice day (or night) and see you around! 🙂

Please, leave a comment.

