Top-7 on Fridays

Top 7 – Favorite Books

Today I’m giving you my top 7-list of my favorite books of 2012 so far.

#7: One Day by David Nicholls –  To me the story started a bit slow. There wasn’t that much action in the beginning, but it changed towards the end. I liked it that it told only bits and pieces of their lives and gave me the opportunity to tell the rest. The idea of telling a story of 20 years in total, but only one day, and always the same day, of the year. It turned out to be a marvelous read.

I didn’t like the ending though. But it was definitely worth to read it anyway.

I gave it ★★★★

#6: Fear the Worst by Linwood Barclay – I liked this book a lot and I read it through in less than a day. Though there were parts and bits in the book that were a little disturbing and needn’t mentioning, overall the book is very good and worth reading. This book is thrilling, exciting, surprising and breathtaking. Linwood Barclay’s ability to describe the most scariest and unwanted situations is impressive.

I gave it ★★★★

#5: Love is Mix Tape by Rob Sheffield – I enjoyed this book more than words can describe. I enjoyed most of the parts describing the feelings the songs on the tapes made him feel and the stories of how those exact songs came to be on those tapes. I’m happy enough to be young but old enough to remember the mix tapes and the fun involving making and listening to them.

I gave it ★★★★

#4: Snow Angels by James Thompson – I enjoyed reading this book mostly because it’s set in my home country, in Finland, but it’s originally written in English. The reason why I wanted to read this book in the first place was to see how a writer from United States was going to tell a story set in Finland.

The book is rough and brutal at times and James Thompson is able to create convincing suspects and keep the reader sitting on the edge of a chair the whole time.

I gave it ★★★★

#3: What Alice Forgot by Liane Moriarty – Alice loses hits her head during an aerobics class and can’t remember the past ten years of her life. She has no memory of her three children or of the reason why her husband wants to divorce her

The story was told by three characters, by Alice, her sister and her “grandma”,  from their own point of view.  It made the book interesting to read and I was anxious to hear what the characters were thinking and experiencing.

Liane Moriarty is an Australian author and I think I’m in love with her work. I know I’ve only read one her books but this book was so heartwarming and lovely that I’m going to read more from her for sure.

I gave it ★★★★

#2: The Help by Kathryn Stockett The story should be famous by now for the movie adaptation winning trophies at the Oscars last February. The Help is a story about maids in Jackson, Mississippi in 1962. It’s a story about how one white woman helps a whole colored community to tell their side of being a colored maid and living in a white man’s country.

No wonder this book is a bestseller. It was well written and the story was interesting. Though the subject of the story is important and rather heavy, the book turned out be quite easy to read. This book is touching, funny and a great read.

I gave it ★★★★★

#1: About a Boy by Nick Hornby – The book tells about a boy who’s forced to re-evaluate his life on the verge of his teenage years. This book is so far the best book of this year. The storytelling is flowing and easy to read. This particular story is well written and interesting. It’s about a boy who learns to be a child, and a bout a man who finally grows up. Marcus, 12 years old, in on the verge of his teenage years and realizes he doesn’t really have that much friends. Making new friends from scrtach in a new school in a new city isn’t easy for this socially awkward boy.

I gave it ★★★★★

Have you read any exceptionally good books this year? Should I read those books as well? Let me know!

With warm hugs and gentle thuds – Keri

2 thoughts on “Top 7 – Favorite Books

Please, leave a comment.

