Writing prompts and challenges

Weekly Photo Challenge: Growth

I grew up with my sister playing together, studying together, listening to same music and watching the same TV-shows. We had some arguments and sometimes the other one got hit (her) and the other one started crying (me), but most of the time we had fun.

As I was thinking about the theme of this challenge I initially thought about my sister. But my sister lives in another city and she isn’t here to be photographed so I had to rethink my target. I came up with this photo.

Me and my sister were huge Take That fans when we were younger. In fact we still are. We also fell in love with Bon Jovi around the same time and we still love them.

When Take That was first formed the boys were really young and maybe a little clueless about the music business. Their fame, or at least the size of their success, came as a bit of a surprise.

Gradually these boys grew up into men and me and my sister grew up from teenagers to young adults. Like us the boys also had their own quarrels and battles. Eventually they grew apart and the band broke up.

After ten years of doing their own thing Take That got back together again. Their music still sounded like them, only this time it was the “grown up them”. Somewhere along the way their music grew up too.

I’ve grown up from young adult to almost thrity and I find it great that I still enjoy listening to the same band as I did as a teenager. Growing up is fun and Take That had a part in my growth.

Do you still listen to the same artists as you did when you were younger? Which artists did you like back then? Which artists do you enjoy listening to today? Share your thoughts.

With warm hugs and gentle thuds – Keri

4 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Growth

  1. I used to like Bon Jovi as a kid, too. =P
    I don’t listen to them any more, though. Although, I still listen to a lot of music I used to listen to ten years ago – The Beatles, Fleetwood Mac, CSNY and Pink Floyd spring to mind. =)

    1. I actually still listen to Bon Jovi and I like them a lot even after all these years. 🙂 I like The Beatles too! 🙂 In general I think you’ve got a great taste in music. 😀

    1. I saw Bon Jovi in concert for the first time in 1995. After that I’ve seen them every time they’ve performed in Finland, which makes it four times total. I had a phase sometime about eight years ago when I listened to Led Zeppelin and The Doors a lot. I think I might still have a Led Zeppelin album lying around somewhere. Thanks for the comment!

Please, leave a comment.

