Just life

Olympic winners bite the gold!

The Olympic games are on in London and I can only wish I’d be there. For me the summer Olympics in London are like a dream come true. I love London and I love the Olympics. I feel some sort of magical togetherness with the whole world when the Olympics are on. It’s like we’re one huge bunch of good friends who all get together to watch different sports at the same time all over the world.

I think it’s fun to watch a variety of different sports, and it’s always great when the young and first-time Olympic athletes win and leave the veterans way behind. One thing I don’t understand about the winners though – why do they bite the gold medal for the photos?

The women's gymnastic team of USAI know it probably has something to do with the idea of somehow “proving” it’s real by biting it. But I still don’t quite get it. It’s common knowledge that the gold medal in fact isn’t real gold at all. As far as I know, and I could be wrong, there’s only about 6 percent gold in the gold medal. Most of it, over 90 percent, is silver.

I’ve been thinking about this action of biting the medal for a few days now and I’ve come to one conclusion; they all just want to look really stupid.

Athletes biting their gold medals in LondonI think they look quite like a bunch of big babies with pacifiers. And even small babies with pacifiers look quite laughable. Take a look at these Olympic winners and tell me if you agree. To me they look like they’re really uncomfortable and foolish.

Ryan Lochte

Ruta Meilutyte

Yannick AgnelCao Yuan (left) and Zhang Yanquan

Yi SIlingPlease, stop biting your medals and pose with grace!

Keri

Please, leave a comment.

